Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > Suggestions and Feedback > Suggestions And Feedback

Suggestions And Feedback New feature suggestions and feedback.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2010, 02:12 AM   #1
betaride
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default Editable "custom tag" property for each chart/window (for use with virtual desktops)

Most virtual desktop managers use window titles to define rules that distribute windows among virtual desktops.

As is, NT is very cumbersome to use with virtual desktop managers. Currently, there is no way to uniquely identify each of the multiple charts/windows opened for the same time frame (e.g. multiple 1 min. charts for ES - each has the same window title).

It would be a tremendous help to implement editable "custom tag" property that goes with each chart/window in one of the next NT releases.
betaride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 07:26 AM   #2
NinjaTrader_ChristopherJ
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_ChristopherJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 4,435
Thanks: 52
Thanked 235 times in 230 posts
Default

Hello betaride,

Thank you for your post and suggestion. I will forward this to our development team for future considerations.

Please let me know if I may be of further assistance.
NinjaTrader_ChristopherJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2015, 08:56 PM   #3
madLyfe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 133
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

not sure if this is part of NT8 but i think it is also needed for screen/window recorders to be able to pick up what window to record properly. using xsplit or OBS you have to go in and select the correct window every time.
madLyfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 11:35 AM   #4
NinjaTrader_AlexC
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_AlexC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 352
Thanks: 3
Thanked 67 times in 65 posts
Default

Hi madLyfe,

That is going to be a function of whatever screen recorder you are using.

Thanks for your suggestion.
NinjaTrader_AlexC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 11:42 AM   #5
madLyfe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 133
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

does NT8 have the ability to change the name of a window in the title bar? i know you can change tab names in a window.
madLyfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 03:05 PM   #6
NinjaTrader_AlexC
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_AlexC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 352
Thanks: 3
Thanked 67 times in 65 posts
Default

Hi madLyfe,

Since NT8 is built on WPF, there will likely be a (as of yet undocumented) way to accomplish this using .NET/WPF, but there is no NinjaScript method or property to do so.
NinjaTrader_AlexC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 03:31 PM   #7
madLyfe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 133
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

do you see this being implemented as a feature in NT8?
madLyfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 03:32 PM   #8
NinjaTrader_AlexC
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_AlexC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 352
Thanks: 3
Thanked 67 times in 65 posts
Default

Hi madLyfe,

It will be possible in NT8, by use of .NET/WPF.
NinjaTrader_AlexC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 03:36 PM   #9
madLyfe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 133
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NinjaTrader_AlexC View Post
Hi madLyfe,

It will be possible in NT8, by use of .NET/WPF.
ya i want sure how to ask again because I'm not sure how all the begins the scenes stuff works with WPF. so there will be an option in the NT 8 chat settings to change each windows name? or are you saying it will have to be done externally?
madLyfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 03:41 PM   #10
NinjaTrader_AlexC
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_AlexC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 352
Thanks: 3
Thanked 67 times in 65 posts
Default

Hi madLyfe,

It will not be a chart option, nor will it have to be done externally. It will hae to be done in code within an indicator, addons, chart style, etc.

As it is a programmatic change, it will be an available functionality to advanced developers who choose to implement this.
NinjaTrader_AlexC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 03:44 PM   #11
madLyfe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 133
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NinjaTrader_AlexC View Post
Hi madLyfe,

It will not be a chart option, nor will it have to be done externally. It will hae to be done in code within an indicator, addons, chart style, etc.

As it is a programmatic change, it will be an available functionality to advanced developers who choose to implement this.
oh ok, thanks. why not just build it in as an NT 8 option? I'm sure a large percentage of users would use such a feature.
madLyfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 03:51 PM   #12
NinjaTrader_AlexC
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_AlexC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 352
Thanks: 3
Thanked 67 times in 65 posts
Default

Hi madLyfe,

I wouldn't expect this to be implemented in NT8, but I have submitted your suggestion to the development team for consideration.
NinjaTrader_AlexC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 03:52 PM   #13
madLyfe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 133
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NinjaTrader_AlexC View Post
Hi madLyfe,

I wouldn't expect this to be implemented in NT8, but I have submitted your suggestion to the development team for consideration.
thanks for your time Alex!
madLyfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DrawCircle("tag",BarsAgo,CenterPrice,Radius) tquinn Suggestions And Feedback 2 05-03-2012 06:02 AM
Is there a property like the "BarsSinceSession" that returns Grand Total Bar Nbr? ChiTrader2000 Strategy Development 4 12-23-2009 02:46 PM
option to remove "buy ask" and "sell bid" on chart trader leontancfa Charting 1 07-01-2009 01:23 PM
summary of "strategy realized" is not equal "account performance, total net profit"" Fragolino Miscellaneous Support 1 02-19-2009 05:12 AM
"Failure to verify license" warning window choices Wataizo Miscellaneous Support 1 02-26-2008 07:59 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:42 PM.

FULL RISK DISCLOSURE: Futures trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.