Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Creating a multi instrument strategy with maximum number of positions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Creating a multi instrument strategy with maximum number of positions

Hi there,

I am new to NinjaTrader and preparing to code / implement a strategy that I am already trading and wanted to check that NT8 can provide the functionality I need before going too far. Apologies for the newbie questions!

I am using Amibroker for backtesting and Interactive Brokers to place trades in a cash (not margin) account. I have a system that enters long trades when todays price sells off X % below yesterdays low and then places a stop based on the fill price. Exits are managed manually. As I live in Australia and getting a margin account with IB requires setting up a company which I don't want to do for tax reasons.

I would like to set up a strategy in Ninjatrader that does the following:
    1. Reads from a text file a list of potential stocks to trade including the position size for each stock, stocks will only be traded in the session if entry conditions are met;
    2. Reads the maximum number of positions the system is allowed to open in the session across all stocks from a text file (each stock only opens 1 position);
    3. If a stock in the list drops X % below yesterdays daily low, Ninja Trader enters long for the position size allocated and also places a stop Y% below the fill price (due to the account being non-margin, I cannot place all the orders at the start of the session as the total order values is more than the cash available);