Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

need to reverse position in NinjaScript strategy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

need to reverse position in NinjaScript strategy

Hi, I'm new to Ninja and have been making steadily slow progress at scripting my first simple strategy, but now I've run into an issue that I would appreciate some thoughts on.

I'm updating on bar close, and if an MA crossover has occurred then I want to go long or short (and will have to reverse position if not flat). The key is that, in case of reversal, I want reverse the position in the first bar after the crossover (not for example go flat in the bar after the crossover and then in the next bar put on a position in the other direction).

So, as I'm updating on bar close, I think I've realized that I need to give a command to reverse the position.

Does someone have an example of implementing a reverse position command in a NinjaScript strategy? I'm aware of the OIF builder, but the documentation on it is sparse and I'm unsure of the following things for example:

-can I put a reverse command in a NinjaScript or is it only for DLL files, etc.?
    -in the OIF reverse command, account and instrument are mandatory, but I would prefer to not have to specify these as is done with for example enterlong()

Thanks in advance for any thoughts...

Jammy

For clarification....

- I am assuming you are referring to a strategy developed in NinjaScript
    - If you are long and your strategy crosses and you wish to reverse you only need to call the EnterShort() method which will take care of closing the long position and entering a short position

Please see the SampleMACrossOver strategy for how this works.