Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Getting a Strategy to Not Trade Again Until Price Has Touched EMA

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Getting a Strategy to Not Trade Again Until Price Has Touched EMA

Hi I am new to developing strategies on the platform and can't figure out how to get my system to not take another trade until price has fallen back to the EMA. Using the Wait X Bars Since Execution function is okay but is not the sharp tool I'm looking for.

So for example my system fades an upward move. I would like it to not trade again until price has fallen back down and touched a simple EMA. It needs to be some function that says if system has traded, wait until price touches EMA to be open to trade again.

Any help is appreciated, thanks!

Hello prescottbph,

Thanks for your post and welcome to the NinjaTrader forums!

Ninjascript provides a number of methods and properties but the underlying code is C# so you are able to take full advantage of a programming language to code as needed.

It sounds like you want to create and use a bool variable, one that you initialize as true and is part of your conditions to enter the order. Once the order is placed you set it to false to prevent further orders until the "reset" condition has occurred (IE: "not trade again until price has fallen back down and touched a simple EMA.")

In the region variable you would declare the variable (any name you wish)
    private bool myBool = true; // initialize as true

In the OnBarUpdate() section:

if (Your conditions to enter && myBool)
    {
    // enter order
    myBool = false; // prevent re-order until reset
    }

if (Low[0] >= EMA(10)[0])
    {