Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Tradestation vs NinjaTrader

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tradestation vs NinjaTrader

Hi All,

I am currently a TS user and programmer and of course trader (Forex). I have NO problems getting into C# and would love to use only NinjaTrader longer term.

I was hoping to get feedback from other traders / programmers (and ideally who have used TS before) to give me an idea of what NT is lacking - if anything.

A couple of examples:

1. Need multiple scaling on the y-axis to plot a histogram (-50 to 50) and a stochastic line (0 to 100) on top of each other. In other words the midpoint of the histogram (0) would intersect with the midpoint of the line (50).

2. Advanced methods - for instance TS has methods to calculate a previous swing high or swing low.

3. Historical Tick Data - TS offers 6 months of tick data on the Forex.

Any general and specific feedback would be greatly appreciated!

Also, is there a resources that would help in converting existing ELD files (EasyLanguage code) to Ninja Script?

Thanks!

imported post

Response from NinjaTrader:

1) We currently do not support multiple scales on a single price panel. This is committed for development later this year.

2) We do not have a function to calulate swing high/low but you can replicate this functionality within NinjaScript. I took a quick look at the EL function forthis and the math seems very straight forward.

3) NinjaTrader itself is not a market data vendor and does not provide a large historical data set for FX. We currently support eSignal for historical data or a manual import function should you have another source for historical data.