Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Lookback Period in CrossAbove

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lookback Period in CrossAbove

Relative newbie here.

I have a few test strategies using the CrossAbove and CrossBelow methods. If the lookback period is set to zero in these, I get no trades in my backtests. It's unclear to me why the lookback period needs to be >0, when the other indicators I am working with don't seem to have this requirement. Further, when actually run the simulator, trades seem to be executing one bar later than they should based on when the crosses are occurring.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Originally posted by Trader5555 View Post
    Relative newbie here.

I have a few test strategies using the CrossAbove and CrossBelow methods. If the lookback period is set to zero in these, I get no trades in my backtests. It's unclear to me why the lookback period needs to be >0, when the other indicators I am working with don't seem to have this requirement. Further, when actually run the simulator, trades seem to be executing one bar later than they should based on when the crosses are occurring.

Any ideas?

Thanks
    What would a lookback period of zero mean? A cross on the last zero bars? That does not make sense. A cross must have happened relative to at least one bar.

Comment

Originally posted by Trader5555 View Post
      Relative newbie here.

Any ideas?

Thanks
      CrossAbove or CrossBelow will need to occur in the last 1 bar or greater. There is no way to check for a cross above/below 0 bars ago.