Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Why Pay programmers?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Why Pay programmers?

I've always wondered why programmers charge for developing trading stategies. -sure if the strategy is either untested or underdeveloped then it makes sense. I'm sure progammers see 95% of the stategies as untradable or unprofitable-but I'm just guessing, otherwise they'd be offering their services for free.

But if you're asking someone to program a goldmine, wouldn't that be more than enough payment?

Personally I've never paid for programming, preferring to hack code to death myself But I'm new to NT so we'll see how much hair I lose trying to program...

Why pay anybody? You can always grow your own garden and raise cattle for food, code your own strategies and walk down to Wall-Street and submit orders yourself...

I'm kidding of course, but really, its to save time and effort. Time is money. While I haven't utilized the services of a NinjaScript consultant yet myself, I do plan to in the not to distant future.

Yes, I could buy some books and eventually hammer out some complex indicators and strategies myself, but honestly, I'd rather trade than program and likely many of the programmers would rather program than trade, and that's why they offer their services.

I understand your point though, especially in the age when some consider "free" to be the future of business.