Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Backtest a Reversal System

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Backtest a Reversal System

I have been a TradeStation Programmer for over 20 years but I am new to NT. I have a couple of basic questions. I've gone through several posts in the forum regarding reversing a position, but it seems that they all relate to real time trading, not backtesting. At this point I am only interested in backtesting and I am using the Managed Approach.

1) I assume that the Unmanaged Approach can only be used for real time, is this correct?

2) I am trying to backtest a strategy that enters on a stop and always has a stop and limit associated with the entry. I would like to be able to reverse the position if, in a trade that has not been taken out by a stop or limit. I can't get the strategy to reverse. Below is a condensed version of the entry/exit code. Is there anyway to allow reversals under these conditions in the Managed Approach. can I use the unmanaged approach for backtesting?

NOTE- The undefined variables below are defind in the actual code. I used "....." as place holders

protected override void OnBarUpdate()
    {

// Long Entry
    Condition1 = ......;

if(Condition1 && Position.MarketPosition != MarketPosition.Long )
    {
    EnterLongStop(ContractsToTrade,FactorBuyPrice,"Fac torBuy");

Factor_LongStopPrice = .....;
    Factor_ShortStopPrice = ......;
    }

// Short Entry
    Condition2 = ........

if(Condition2 && Position.MarketPosition != MarketPosition.Short )
    {
    EnterShortStop(ContractsToTrade,FactorSellPrice,"F actorSell");

Factor_ShortStopPrice = .......;
    Factor_ShortLimitPrice = .......;

}

// Exits