Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Newbie coding help query; Range Bar query

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie coding help query; Range Bar query

I am brand new to Ninja. Have some experience with Tradestation (many years) but am not the world's best programmer although have made some fairly complex systems with great difficulty (have never mastered loops and arrays for example).

One thing I miss from Tradestation is a colored bar that reflects the internal volume. I use tick charts for day-trading but (at least in TS) you can also keep track of the volume of contracts up and down within that bar. Volume is not the same as ticks in that one tick might trade 1 contract and the next 100.

In TS when you load a symbol and choose Ticks, there is an additional option to base volume on either ticks or volume. I am not sure if this exists in Ninja. If it doesn't, then forget about it. But I suspect it does since there are volume indicators.

I have looked through the Ninja script help area but don't have a clue how to code this myself as simple as it is. Can't even figure out how to color a bar! However, once I see the code, that will help.

I have 2 types in this one but really I ended up using the first one. If anyone would like to code that for me I would be grateful. Please forgive if it's already been done somewhere. I can't find it obviously.

Here is the TS code for this very simple Paintbar indicator:

{TickA PB by ASH}

inputs: Type(1),UpColor(yellow),DnColor( cyan) ;
    variables: ColorLevel( 0), updown(0),avup(0),avdn(0),avupdown(0) ,upt(0),downt(0);

upt = upticks; downt = downticks;
    updown = upticks-downticks;
    avup = waverage(upt,3);