Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

ATM Stop-loss Failed, Causing a Large Loss

Hello,

I started trading live today, after quite a bit of simulated trading screen time.

(Keep in mind, I blame nobody but myself for this and am not asking for anything other than to troubleshoot this)

I always enter my trades with an ATM Strategy that creates a $75 stop-loss for me. At times, during economic report releases, I use an ATM Strategy that puts in a $250 stop-loss for me, but today I did not use that strategy and only used the $75 stop strategy for each trade today instead.

I started out doing well and had a net profit of $595.00 after I started trading today.

I knew that the EIA Petroleum Status report was set to be released in a few minutes and I thought that if I risk $75, I have a lot to gain and little to lose. So I placed an ATM Strategy buy-stop.

When the price hit my buy-stop, I immediately got an error message. I was then horrified to see that I had no stop-loss and the price had gone against me in a big way.

I had to manually close the trade out, but by then I had racked up a $1,255.80 loss, from that one trade, when I thought my maximum risk would be $75.

After that, while emotionally distraught, I tried to make up for my losses and took mediocre trade setups and lost some more of my money.

Again, I take responsibility for this, I should not have entered that economic report release trade or continue trading afterwards. I learned my lesson the hard way. No more economic report release trades.

The Order ID for that trade is: 473921325

The only thing I ask is that you please try to find out what went wrong, why my ATM Strategy stop-loss did not trigger and if there is a bug in Ninjatrader that needs to be fixed or not.

Screenshots attached,
    Attached Files

Hello,

Thanks for your post.