Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Backtesting strategies on ES ##-##

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Backtesting strategies on ES ##-##

I admit I am pretty new at backtesting but I had no difficulties on developing a couple of strategies and backtesting them on ES 03-17.
    Now I'd like to backtest them on ES ##-## for the last 12-24 months. I tried everything but to no avail.
    I have an active trading account (not a demo..) and Continuum Data feed.
    Can you provide me with a clear step by step procedure in order to backtest my strategies on that instrument?
    Thank You very much.
    Leo

Hello,

Thank you for the post.

Testing this symbol would use the same set of steps in the Strategy Analyzer as any other instrument but this does depend on the data provider.

NinjaTrader brokerage doesn't provide historical or live data for the continuous contract symbol, but because ninjaTrader comes with the "auto merge" option enabled, selecting the current contract and using MergeBackAdjusted would provide the same information you would get from the continuous contract. Other providers like Kinetick do offer the ##-## symbol and in that case the symbol could be used in the analyzer.

I look forward to being of further assistance.
    JesseNinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Thank You Jesse,
      it works !
      I am backtesting on ES 03-17 back to all 2016 and beyond.

Just a further question: is there any difference on how data are computed between the present contract data ( from Jan 2017 to present ) and the older data ( ie. from Jan 2016 to Dec 2016) ?

For your info I am backtesting a strategy based on 3-min data chart.

Thank you very much.

Leo