Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Backtester goes crazy and start running multiple backtests

Hi,

I have been using NT7 (multi-brocker licence) for many years and I am very pleased with the performance.

I am now however (for the second time) trying to convert to NT8. I have several issues. The most annoying is that when running a multi-instrument backtest (50+ instruments) the backtester goes crazy around every fourth backtest.

The backtest runs multiple backtest until I have terminate the process. This makes is hard to use the platform at all.

Do you have any idea when this bug will be corrected?

Thanks!

When you run these back tests do you have the chart window open in strategy analyser? I think I've seen a similar problem, to resolve it I ensure I am on the summary window when running multi instrument and multi timeframe backtests. It sounds odd but resolved the problem I had (although obviously not a permanent fix).

Comment

Thank you for your advice!

I have however the Summary tab open during backtest.

Thanks again.

Comment

Hello,

Thank you for the post.

Can you tell me, have you tried testing using the SampleMACrossOver with the general settings and amount of instruments you use? Do you have the same result or is this related to a specific strategy being tested?

The logic of a strategy can certainly affect testing times or if it is running into errors could cause instabilities.

If you are testing a simple strategy like the SampleMACrossOver and seeing problems, I would like to gather the settings you used to see if this is PC performance related or something based on the settings used.

I look forward to being of further assistance.
        JesseNinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Thank you for your answer!

Just for clarification:

A add a lot of stocks in State.Configure using AddDataSerie. I have the process attached in Visual Studio debugger.

The code is very complex and equivalent code worked fine in NT7.