Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > NinjaTrader 7 > Strategy Development

Strategy Development Support for the development of custom automated trading strategies using NinjaScript.

NinjaTrader
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2017, 08:38 PM   #1
RJBen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 28
Thanks: 9
Thanked 2 times in 1 post
Default Detecting lines within NT

I want to develop a strategy in NT7 that identifies lines from within NT. In other words, if an indicator plots horizontal lines, (fibs for example) I want to create a strategy that whenever horizontal lines are created by some indicator x, then execute the trade (even if the source behind those lines is unknown). There must be something within NT that can identify/detect when horizontal lines are plotted.
Last edited by RJBen; 06-17-2017 at 12:50 AM. Reason: Clarification
RJBen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 01:45 PM   #2
NinjaTrader_ChelseaB
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_ChelseaB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 7,406
Thanks: 116
Thanked 1,631 times in 1,538 posts
Default

Hello RJBen,

Objects are only available outside of a class in C# if they are made public.

You may be able to create a public array to hold these objects and get information about the objects on each bar update. (It may be necessary to call Update() in the get).

I would recommend using a List object.
NinjaTrader_ChelseaB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 05:15 PM   #3
RJBen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 28
Thanks: 9
Thanked 2 times in 1 post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NinjaTrader_ChelseaB View Post
Hello RJBen,

Objects are only available outside of a class in C# if they are made public.

You may be able to create a public array to hold these objects and get information about the objects on each bar update. (It may be necessary to call Update() in the get).

I would recommend using a List object.
Do you care to dumb that down for me? lol
RJBen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 11:10 AM   #4
NinjaTrader_ChelseaB
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_ChelseaB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 7,406
Thanks: 116
Thanked 1,631 times in 1,538 posts
Default

Hello RJBen,

The code below is general C# is and not specific to NinjaScript (meaning this is not documented in the help guide and isn't guaranteed).

The idea would be to create an array to hold the drawing objects.

Code:
private List<IDrawObject> myDrawingObjects;
Code:
myDrawingObjects = new List<IDrawObject>();
Make this public
Code:
[XmlIgnore()]
[Browsable(false)]
public List<IDrawObject> MyDrawingObjects
{
	get
	{
		Update();
		return myDrawingObjects;
	}
	set	{ }
}
And then as objects are drawn, these are added to the list.
Code:
myDrawingObjects.Add(DrawLine("myLineb", 30, High[0] + 2 * TickSize, 0, High[0] + 2 * TickSize, Color.Green));
Then the strategy would access that public property
Code:
if (MyIndicator().MyDrawingObjects != null)
{
	foreach (IDrawObject draw in MyIndicator().MyDrawingObjects)
	{
		if (draw is ILine)
		{
			ILine line = draw as ILine;

			Print(string.Format("{0}", line.StartY));
		}
	}
}
https://www.dotnetperls.com/list
NinjaTrader_ChelseaB is offline  
Reply With Quote
The following user says thank you to NinjaTrader_ChelseaB for this post:
Old 06-19-2017, 11:33 AM   #5
RJBen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 28
Thanks: 9
Thanked 2 times in 1 post
Default

Chelsea B. ROCKS!!!!
RJBen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2017, 10:43 AM   #6
RJBen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 28
Thanks: 9
Thanked 2 times in 1 post
Default

Next question, so long as these are levels on a chart, can we set Display in Data box to true and access the information from the Data box? Instead of trying to detect a level from indicator X can we instead extract the information from the Data box? It too has the price levels that I need.
RJBen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2017, 07:17 AM   #7
NinjaTrader_ChelseaB
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_ChelseaB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 7,406
Thanks: 116
Thanked 1,631 times in 1,538 posts
Default

Hello RJBen,

Drawing objects will not appear in the Data Box.

Plots will appear in the DataBox.

Plots in an indicator can be returned in a strategy.
NinjaTrader_ChelseaB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2017, 08:06 AM   #8
RJBen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 28
Thanks: 9
Thanked 2 times in 1 post
Default

Hi Chelsea,
I have a set of proprietary indicators that plot potential support and resistance levels based on market volatility. I put several different chart types on one chart (2 Range, 2 Time and 2 Volume). I made each chart a different color. Then I am looking for areas of confluence between those chart types. I've included a screenshot from yesterdays trading on the ES. I want to have an automation strategy created. But I need to be able to put the plots into the strategy to compare and find those areas of confluence as the source codes are closed. The Data box separates everything by chart types, colors and price values. So if I can extract that information, like into a spreadsheet, I can separate it by colors and compare price levels for areas of confluence. Can it be done?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 8_14_2017.jpg (118.0 KB, 8 views)
Last edited by RJBen; 08-15-2017 at 08:21 AM.
RJBen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2017, 08:29 AM   #9
NinjaTrader_ChelseaB
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_ChelseaB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 7,406
Thanks: 116
Thanked 1,631 times in 1,538 posts
Default

Hello RJBen,

Plots are intended to be called from other scripts when the data series are made public.

For an example, take a look at how the MACD indicator works. There are three plots in this, the Default plot, the Avg plot, and the Diff plot.

For example:
Print(MACD(12, 26, 9).Avg[0]);

This would print the most recent bar's value for the Avg plot in the MACD.

Are you creating public data series for your plots?
NinjaTrader_ChelseaB is offline  
Reply With Quote
The following user says thank you to NinjaTrader_ChelseaB for this post:
Old 08-15-2017, 08:39 AM   #10
RJBen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 28
Thanks: 9
Thanked 2 times in 1 post
Default

Sorry, I am not a programmer. What does, "creating public data series for your plots" mean?
RJBen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2017, 08:54 AM   #11
NinjaTrader_ChelseaB
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_ChelseaB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 7,406
Thanks: 116
Thanked 1,631 times in 1,538 posts
Default

Hello RJBen,

This means using the public access modifier declaring the series within the scope of the class.

In the MACD this is in the region Properties on lines 105 through 124.

The example below shows exposing objects with the public access modifier.
http://ninjatrader.com/support/forum...ead.php?t=4991

The Values[plot index] series is what you wanting to expose.

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...v=vs.100).aspx

If you are not a programmer you can also contact a professional NinjaScript Consultant who would be eager to create or modify this script at your request or assist you with your script. The NinjaTrader Ecosystem has affiliate contacts who provide educational as well as consulting services. Please let me know if you would like our business development follow up with you with a list of affiliate consultants who would be happy to create this script or any others at your request.
NinjaTrader_ChelseaB is offline  
Reply With Quote
The following user says thank you to NinjaTrader_ChelseaB for this post:
Old 08-15-2017, 11:00 AM   #12
RJBen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 28
Thanks: 9
Thanked 2 times in 1 post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NinjaTrader_ChelseaB View Post
If you are not a programmer you can also contact a professional NinjaScript Consultant who would be eager to create or modify this script at your request or assist you with your script. The NinjaTrader Ecosystem has affiliate contacts who provide educational as well as consulting services. Please let me know if you would like our business development follow up with you with a list of affiliate consultants who would be happy to create this script or any others at your request.
It would be greatly appreciated to have a professional NinjaScript Consultant to pursue this with me. Thanks Chelsea. Please have someone at Business Development contact me.
RJBen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2017, 11:32 AM   #13
NinjaTrader_RyanL
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_RyanL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 809
Thanks: 42
Thanked 117 times in 114 posts
Default

Hello RJBen,

This is Ryan L. from the NinjaTrader Ecosystem responding on behalf of my colleague Chelsea.

You can search our extensive library of NinjaScript consultants through the link below. Simply enter a consultant name or search by using our filter categories. Once you have identified your consultants of choice, please visit each consultant's site for more information or contact them directly to learn more!
You can locate the contact information for the consultants on their direct websites for any additional questions you may have. Since these consultants are third party services for NinjaTrader all pricing and support information will need to be obtained through the consultant.

This NinjaTrader Ecosystem website is for educational and informational purposes only and should not be considered a solicitation to buy or sell a futures contract or make any other type of investment decision. The companies and services listed on this website are not to be considered a recommendation and it is the reader's responsibility to evaluate any product, service, or company. NinjaTrader Ecosystem LLC is not responsible for the accuracy or content of any product, service or company linked to on this website.

Please let me know if you have any questions, concerns or if I can provide any further assistance by responding to this thread at your convenience.
NinjaTrader_RyanL is offline  
Reply With Quote
The following user says thank you to NinjaTrader_RyanL for this post:
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
third-party indicator imalil General Development 23 08-27-2016 07:15 PM
Third Party Charting coreduo1 Platform Technical Support 1 09-30-2014 04:15 PM
Third Party Connection nrogers805 Platform Technical Support 13 04-06-2011 08:24 AM
3 rd party add on's joetrader Platform Technical Support 1 08-20-2010 07:42 AM
T Levels vicrose General Development 3 11-05-2008 09:14 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:09 AM.

Futures, foreign currency and options trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.

CFTC Rules 4.41 - Hypothetical or Simulated performance results have certain limitations, unlike an actual performance record, simulated results do not represent actual trading. Also, since the trades have not been executed, the results may have under-or-over compensated for the impact, if any, of certain market factors, such as lack of liquidity. Simulated trading programs in general are also subject to the fact that they are designed with the benefit of hindsight. No representation is being made that any account will or is likely to achieve profit or losses similar to those shown.

This website is hosted and operated by NinjaTrader, LLC (“NT”), a software development company which owns and supports all proprietary technology relating to and including the NinjaTrader trading platform. NT is an affiliated company to NinjaTrader Brokerage (“NTB”), which is a NFA registered introducing broker (NFA #0339976) providing brokerage services to traders of futures and foreign exchange products. This website is intended for educational and informational purposes only and should not be viewed as a solicitation or recommendation of any product, service or trading strategy. No offer or solicitation to buy or sell securities, securities derivative or futures products of any kind, or any type of trading or investment advice, recommendation or strategy, is made, given, or in any manner endorsed by any NT affiliate and the information made available on this Web site is not an offer or solicitation of any kind. Specific questions related to a brokerage account should be sent to your broker directly. The content and opinions expressed on this website are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of NT or any of its affiliates. 

Vendors along with their websites, products and services, collectively referred to as (“Vendor Content”), are independent persons or companies that are in no manner affiliated with NT or any if its affiliates. NT or any of its affiliates are not responsible for, do not approve, recommend or endorse any Vendor Content referenced on this website and it’s your sole responsibility to evaluate Vendor Content. Please be aware that any performance information provided by a vendor should be considered hypothetical and must contain the disclosures required by NFA Rule 2-29(c). If you are interested in learning more about, or investigating the quality of, any such Vendor Content you must contact the vendor, provider or seller of such Vendor Content. No person employed by, or associated with, NT or any of its affiliates is authorized to provide any information about any such Vendor Content.