Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > NinjaTrader 7 > Platform Technical Support

Platform Technical Support General platform technical support for NinjaTrader 7.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2009, 04:28 PM   #1
rtj4201
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 347
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default Interactive Brokers Setup

I was getting ready to order the NT live for Interactive Brokers and I started reviewing the NT help guide for IB. The help guide must be based on an earlier release of IB.

I am using the TWS 887.2 required by NT.

As I go thru NT help guides, it does not track with TWS 887.2.

I am particularly concerned about activating the "stop trigger method" as I trade outside of regular business hours.

Someone please tell me NT will work as per installation.

I looked all thru TWS 887.2. I could not find the "stop trigger method".
rtj4201 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 04:43 PM   #2
NinjaTrader_Jason
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 14,723
Thanks: 229
Thanked 976 times in 948 posts
Default

Hello rtj4201,

NinjaTrader will work as per the installation.

Please go to Configure-->Order-->Order defaults-->Settings in TWS 887.2 and you will see the option to enable the triggering of orders outside regular trading hours.
NinjaTrader_Jason is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 04:49 PM   #3
rtj4201
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 347
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

I found it.

You have to go to futures tab.

It is the first tick under the Time in Force.

Looks a lot different than the setup video in NT.
rtj4201 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 05:22 PM   #4
rtj4201
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 347
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

I need some help.

I purchased the lease. Got my key. Put it in the program.

I see my account information under the Control Center Account Tab.

I activated a Workspace.

Do not see how to go LIVE.

HELP....
rtj4201 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 05:31 PM   #5
rtj4201
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 347
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

I clicked on "Global Simulation Mode" and it allowed me to activate either
SIM101 or my IB account.

Also I went to Tools/Options/Misc/Account Groups and set up SIM101 and my IB account in a group called RT.

Have I done the right thing?
rtj4201 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 06:39 PM   #6
NinjaTrader_Jason
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 14,723
Thanks: 229
Thanked 976 times in 948 posts
Default

Hello rtj4201,

Yes, you will need to uncheck 'Global Simulation Mode' to be able to select your live account.

I am not sure why you created the account group, so I am not sure if you did the right thing. Please see the link below for more information regarding account groups.
http://www.ninjatrader-support.com/H...verview15.html
NinjaTrader_Jason is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 08:02 PM   #7
rtj4201
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 347
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

After I read account group, apparently it causes duplicate trades in whatever accounts you designate in the Group.

That is not what I wanted.

I want to tade either the SIM101 or the IB account.
rtj4201 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 08:09 AM   #8
NinjaTrader_Jason
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 14,723
Thanks: 229
Thanked 976 times in 948 posts
Default

You will need to select either the sim101 account or the IB account in the NinjaTrader order entry window you would use. More information can be found at the link below.
http://www.ninjatrader-support.com/H...dAccounts.html
NinjaTrader_Jason is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 11:17 AM   #9
rtj4201
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 347
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

While I am waiting for my transfer to IB account to minimum requirements, I tried a trade.

Impressive. It immediately shows up in TWS. When I move the order on the Chart, it immediately follows in TWS.

All accounts in TWS and NT compare.

Not bad.
rtj4201 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 11:33 AM   #10
rtj4201
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 347
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

I started trading with some stocks so I could control costs to see how the programs works with IB.

When I traded SSO, I noticed that when the trade executed, on the DOM next to the chart the entry price that displays was always $0.01 higher than the price that displays on the chart itself. Also, in IB the the actual entry price is the chart number not the number on the DOM.

Anyone know why there would be a $0.01 difference.
rtj4201 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 08:21 AM   #11
NinjaTrader_Jason
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 14,723
Thanks: 229
Thanked 976 times in 948 posts
Default

Could it be you were already in a position in the SuperDOM before sending the entry order? The SuperDOM displayed an average entry price, which would be $0.01 lower than the individual entry price of the entry order you submitted.

If not, please post a screenshot of the discrepancy between the SuperDOM, chart and TWS.

To send a screenshot press Alt + PRINT SCREEN to take a screen shot of the selected window. Then go to Start--> Accessories--> Paint, and press CRTL + V to paste the image. Lastly, save as a jpeg file and send the file as an attachment.
NinjaTrader_Jason is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 06:55 PM   #12
jficquette
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

I want to download Ninga to use the market replay function and test it out in general.

I have IB 889.4.

Your web page says to use 887. I am not interested in downgrading IB to test Ninga Trader.

Can I use my version with Ninga Trader?

John
jficquette is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 06:27 AM   #13
NinjaTrader_VinceB
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_VinceB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,559
Thanks: 55
Thanked 79 times in 76 posts
Default

Hi,

Unfortunately not. You need to use the version that is listed on our website here:
http://www.ninjatrader.com/webnew/su...ivebrokers.htm
NinjaTrader_VinceB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting the Most out of Interactive Brokers!! mainstream Platform Technical Support 5 10-31-2010 03:10 AM
Interactive Brokers rtj4201 Platform Technical Support 1 01-12-2009 04:53 PM
Cannot Connect to Interactive Brokers Samurai Platform Technical Support 6 11-16-2008 09:41 PM
To All Interactive Brokers Users... trader65 Platform Technical Support 0 05-12-2008 10:33 AM
Can't connect to Interactive Brokers daven Platform Technical Support 1 12-17-2007 09:46 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:05 AM.

Futures, foreign currency and options trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.

CFTC Rules 4.41 - Hypothetical or Simulated performance results have certain limitations, unlike an actual performance record, simulated results do not represent actual trading. Also, since the trades have not been executed, the results may have under-or-over compensated for the impact, if any, of certain market factors, such as lack of liquidity. Simulated trading programs in general are also subject to the fact that they are designed with the benefit of hindsight. No representation is being made that any account will or is likely to achieve profit or losses similar to those shown.

This website is hosted and operated by NinjaTrader, LLC (“NT”), a software development company which owns and supports all proprietary technology relating to and including the NinjaTrader trading platform. NT is an affiliated company to NinjaTrader Brokerage (“NTB”), which is a NFA registered introducing broker (NFA #0339976) providing brokerage services to traders of futures and foreign exchange products. This website is intended for educational and informational purposes only and should not be viewed as a solicitation or recommendation of any product, service or trading strategy. No offer or solicitation to buy or sell securities, securities derivative or futures products of any kind, or any type of trading or investment advice, recommendation or strategy, is made, given, or in any manner endorsed by any NT affiliate and the information made available on this Web site is not an offer or solicitation of any kind. Specific questions related to a brokerage account should be sent to your broker directly. The content and opinions expressed on this website are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of NT or any of its affiliates. 

Vendors along with their websites, products and services, collectively referred to as (“Vendor Content”), are independent persons or companies that are in no manner affiliated with NT or any if its affiliates. NT or any of its affiliates are not responsible for, do not approve, recommend or endorse any Vendor Content referenced on this website and it’s your sole responsibility to evaluate Vendor Content. Please be aware that any performance information provided by a vendor should be considered hypothetical and must contain the disclosures required by NFA Rule 2-29(c). If you are interested in learning more about, or investigating the quality of, any such Vendor Content you must contact the vendor, provider or seller of such Vendor Content. No person employed by, or associated with, NT or any of its affiliates is authorized to provide any information about any such Vendor Content. Visit the CFTC resources for education regarding the industry and signs of fraud.