Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > NinjaTrader 7 > Platform Technical Support

Platform Technical Support General platform technical support for NinjaTrader 7.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2009, 08:51 PM   #1
bjm051593
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default SuperDOM Stop Orders and the Middle Mouse Button

Is it possible to remap the button used in the SuperDOM for stop orders? IOW, I'd rather:

- use the right button for stop orders OR

- have the order be "intelligently" placed - i.e. buy's above market are buy stop, sells below market are sell stop

Are either one of these possible?
bjm051593 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 11:31 PM   #2
NinjaTrader_RJ
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_RJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,837
Thanks: 5
Thanked 24 times in 23 posts
Default

Hello,

Thank you for your post.

Unfortunately "re-mapping" the keys is not supported.
NinjaTrader_RJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 07:00 AM   #3
bjm051593
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Thanks RJ - is it also not possible to have the orders adjust to the market scenario? I.e. buy stop of the price is above market, sell stop if the price is below market?
bjm051593 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 08:07 AM   #4
NinjaTrader_Bertrand
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Bertrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 26,203
Thanks: 487
Thanked 1,840 times in 1,781 posts
Default

Hi bjm051593, unfortunately not, Buy stops will have to placed in the left Buy column, vice versa for Sell stops - Thanks!
NinjaTrader_Bertrand is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 05:32 PM   #5
bjm051593
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Sorry, I think you might have misunderstood me...

For example, I have no open positions.

If I move the mouse cursor to a price in the ladder that is greater than the market and in the buy/left column, the order type should default to Buy Stop. If the price is less than the market, it would be Buy Limit. If in the sell column, the default order type would be Limit if the price rung is above market, and Sell Stop if below market.

A few other brokers do this by default (TradeStation, ThinkOrSwim, Infinity) all behave this way. I'm wondering if there's a way to get NT to behave similarly?
bjm051593 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 05:55 PM   #6
NinjaTrader_RJ
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_RJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,837
Thanks: 5
Thanked 24 times in 23 posts
Default

Hello,

Unfortunately these "smart" entries are not supported.

I do know that this request has been added to development's list of future considerations.
NinjaTrader_RJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 08:10 PM   #7
bjm051593
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Ok, thanks for the update RJ...
bjm051593 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 05:05 PM   #8
miker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hopkinton MA
Posts: 110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

I agree with bjm051593. This feature would be very helpful. The DOM should also do a little pop-up hint that follows the cursor to reflect the order type.

By the way, when using no ATM Strategy, how do you force all stop orders to be stop limit orders instead of stop market order? I have the property "Use stop market for stop loss orders" set to False.
miker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 06:44 PM   #9
NinjaTrader_Kyle
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Kyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 10,210
Thanks: 397
Thanked 635 times in 609 posts
Default

Hi miker,

Thank you for your post.

I'm afraid I don't follow. When not using an ATM strategy, you can specify what type of order you will use to manage your trade when placing the order itself. Would you care to clarify?

The Use Stop Market for Stop Loss Orders property applies only to stop losses placed via ATM strategies.
NinjaTrader_Kyle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 07:00 PM   #10
miker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hopkinton MA
Posts: 110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

I'm using an ATM Strategy of "<none>". I assume then I cannot force stop orders to be stop limit (instead of market) orders?
miker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 08:01 AM   #11
NinjaTrader_VinceB
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_VinceB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,559
Thanks: 55
Thanked 79 times in 76 posts
Default

That is correct.
NinjaTrader_VinceB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 08:35 AM   #12
miker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hopkinton MA
Posts: 110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

Thank you.
miker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Middle Mouse Scroll Wheel Stop Orders chrisp Platform Technical Support 1 10-22-2008 05:04 AM
Middle mouse button in Chart mason Suggestions And Feedback 1 07-03-2008 04:00 AM
in superdom, how can i enter stop order if i dont have middle mouse button? asalada Platform Technical Support 2 06-12-2008 07:18 AM
Odd Behavior With Middle Mouse Button` pivot44 Platform Technical Support 2 01-08-2008 12:24 AM
Middle mouse button and stop orders ron Platform Technical Support 1 01-20-2005 08:55 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:48 AM.

Futures, foreign currency and options trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.

CFTC Rules 4.41 - Hypothetical or Simulated performance results have certain limitations, unlike an actual performance record, simulated results do not represent actual trading. Also, since the trades have not been executed, the results may have under-or-over compensated for the impact, if any, of certain market factors, such as lack of liquidity. Simulated trading programs in general are also subject to the fact that they are designed with the benefit of hindsight. No representation is being made that any account will or is likely to achieve profit or losses similar to those shown.

This website is hosted and operated by NinjaTrader, LLC (“NT”), a software development company which owns and supports all proprietary technology relating to and including the NinjaTrader trading platform. NT is an affiliated company to NinjaTrader Brokerage (“NTB”), which is a NFA registered introducing broker (NFA #0339976) providing brokerage services to traders of futures and foreign exchange products. This website is intended for educational and informational purposes only and should not be viewed as a solicitation or recommendation of any product, service or trading strategy. No offer or solicitation to buy or sell securities, securities derivative or futures products of any kind, or any type of trading or investment advice, recommendation or strategy, is made, given, or in any manner endorsed by any NT affiliate and the information made available on this Web site is not an offer or solicitation of any kind. Specific questions related to a brokerage account should be sent to your broker directly. The content and opinions expressed on this website are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of NT or any of its affiliates. 

Vendors along with their websites, products and services, collectively referred to as (“Vendor Content”), are independent persons or companies that are in no manner affiliated with NT or any if its affiliates. NT or any of its affiliates are not responsible for, do not approve, recommend or endorse any Vendor Content referenced on this website and it’s your sole responsibility to evaluate Vendor Content. Please be aware that any performance information provided by a vendor should be considered hypothetical and must contain the disclosures required by NFA Rule 2-29(c). If you are interested in learning more about, or investigating the quality of, any such Vendor Content you must contact the vendor, provider or seller of such Vendor Content. No person employed by, or associated with, NT or any of its affiliates is authorized to provide any information about any such Vendor Content. Visit the CFTC resources for education regarding the industry and signs of fraud.