Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > NinjaTrader 7 > Platform Technical Support

Platform Technical Support General platform technical support for NinjaTrader 7.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2011, 11:19 PM   #1
Mike_32
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 294
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Cool Historical data problem

NT says Unable to connect to NinjaTrader data server [ip/port]: No such host is known. But it was connecting before. I repaired DB still does it.
Mike_32 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 11:39 PM   #2
Mike_32
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 294
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_32 View Post
NT says Unable to connect to NinjaTrader data server [ip/port]: No such host is known. But it was connecting before. I repaired DB still does it.
By the way this is 7ticks aka Zenfire aka Mirus Futures so im probably asking the wrong people?
Mike_32 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 01:15 AM   #3
NinjaTrader_Dierk
Administrator
 
NinjaTrader_Dierk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bamberg, Germany
Posts: 10,083
Thanks: 2
Thanked 31 times in 24 posts
Default

Are you on NT 6.5.1000.14 or older? Then you might have missed the 3 in-product announcements we had sent out the past 4 weeks:
www.ninjatrader.com/Advisory/Advisory2.php

Could you please update your NT installation accordingly?

Thanks
NinjaTrader_Dierk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 02:27 AM   #4
xenayoo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 142
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 times in 6 posts
Default

Well, nice try Dierk. But with NT6.5.100.19 there is no historical data, too. The menuitem 'Reload historical data' is grayed out. Seems like the historical data server for NT6.5 is out of order....

Jens
xenayoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 02:36 AM   #5
NinjaTrader_Jason
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 14,723
Thanks: 229
Thanked 976 times in 948 posts
Default

Hello Jens,

Can you please send me an email to support[at]ninjatrader[dot]com that includes the following information.

License key you have entered at Control Center-->Help-->License Key

Zen-Fire username and password

Please put 'Attn Jason' in the subject header and reference this forum thread. I like to test your connection on my end and check if I experience the same outcome.
NinjaTrader_Jason is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 02:43 AM   #6
laredo78676
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 279
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 times in 2 posts
Default

When time and and sales work but charts dont update,what do u check?
laredo78676 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 02:47 AM   #7
NinjaTrader_Jason
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 14,723
Thanks: 229
Thanked 976 times in 948 posts
Default

Please check the session template that is selected in the chart. The session template determines at what times data is loaded in charts in NinjaTrader 7. You can select the session template in the Data Series menu (right click chart). Make sure it does not exclude the current time.

If 'Session template' is currently set to <Use instrument settings>, please go to Control Center-->Tools-->Instrument Manager, highight the instrument in question and click Edit. You can now view what session template is used.

Subsequently go to Control Center-->Tools-->Session Manager. You can now see what times are used by the session template. You can modify session templates to your liking or create brand new ones in the Session Manager. More information can be found at the link below.
http://www.ninjatrader.com/support/h...on_manager.htm
NinjaTrader_Jason is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 02:48 AM   #8
xenayoo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 142
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 times in 6 posts
Default

Hello Jason,

did I read right? Zenfire Username AND Password???? At the moment I use a @SIM License, bicause the direct-edition License deactivates the ATM-Features also in Simulation mode. I have a real-account by Mirus. That's why I don't tell my password. OK?

what's ub with the historical data-server? This is powerd by NinjaTrader - as far as I know.

Jens
xenayoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 03:21 AM   #9
NinjaTrader_Jason
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 14,723
Thanks: 229
Thanked 976 times in 948 posts
Default

We test customer's connections on daily basis and the information is kept in confidence. I will test your connection using the free license key as well, so no live orders can be submitted.

When I test Zen-Fire in version 6.5.1000.19 on my end, I am able to load historical data as expected.

Check the following in the mean time. Please go to Control Center-->Tools-->Account Connections, highlight your Zen-Fire connection and click Change. Make sure 'Historical data' is enabled.
NinjaTrader_Jason is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 03:41 AM   #10
xenayoo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 142
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 times in 6 posts
Default

Hello Jason,
I checked the checkbox 'Historical data'. Everything is ok. I checked the LOG and found following:

"Unable to connect to NinjaTrader data server (64.202.118.132/31654): Es konnte keine Verbindung hergestellt werde, da der Zielcomputer die Verbindung verweigerte 80.156.86.78:31654"

That means, that the Ninja-data-server don't accept requests from my computer. There are two IPs listed....?????

Jens
xenayoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 04:09 AM   #11
Mike_32
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 294
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Cool

No I have 100.18, you might want to check that IP address. 64.202.118.132
Mike_32 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 04:11 AM   #12
Mike_32
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 294
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xenayoo View Post
Hello Jason,
I checked the checkbox 'Historical data'. Everything is ok. I checked the LOG and found following:

&quot;Unable to connect to NinjaTrader data server (64.202.118.132/31654): Es konnte keine Verbindung hergestellt werde, da der Zielcomputer die Verbindung verweigerte 80.156.86.78:31654&quot;

That means, that the Ninja-data-server don't accept requests from my computer. There are two IPs listed....?????

Jens
What does it say for you under Tools, Options, Data, Data Server, URL? Is it blanked out?
Mike_32 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 04:15 AM   #13
Mike_32
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 294
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xenayoo View Post
Hello Jason,
I checked the checkbox 'Historical data'. Everything is ok. I checked the LOG and found following:

&quot;Unable to connect to NinjaTrader data server (64.202.118.132/31654): Es konnte keine Verbindung hergestellt werde, da der Zielcomputer die Verbindung verweigerte 80.156.86.78:31654&quot;

That means, that the Ninja-data-server don't accept requests from my computer. There are two IPs listed....?????

Jens
You can use these 4. 64.202.118.132 64.202.118.144 64.202.118.179 64.202.118.180
Mike_32 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 04:43 AM   #14
xenayoo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 142
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 times in 6 posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_32 View Post
What does it say for you under Tools, Options, Data, Data Server, URL? Is it blanked out?
yes, but how could i activate it?
xenayoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 04:54 AM   #15
NinjaTrader_Jason
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 14,723
Thanks: 229
Thanked 976 times in 948 posts
Default

Hello Jens,

Please see the link below.
http://www.ninjatrader-support.com/H...deV6/Data.html

URL
Sets the URL for the NinjaTrader Historical Data Server (this option may not be visible if your broker does not support this feature)


Port
Sets the port for the NinjaTrader Historical Data Server (this option may not be visible if your broker does not support this feature)


Can you please try the following. While NinjaTrader is closed, please go to (My) Documents-->NinjaTrader 6.5 and delete the Config.xml file. This file holds all created connections so they will be lost.

Start NinjaTrader and recreate your Zen-Fire connection as per the instructions at the following link.
http://www.ninjatrader.com/Connectio...tion-Guide.php

Subsequently, check if you can get connected to the historical data server.
NinjaTrader_Jason is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Historical data problem lgarcia3 Platform Technical Support 3 02-21-2010 02:19 PM
historical Data Problem davidwm88 Platform Technical Support 1 07-15-2009 02:57 AM
Historical data problem heech General Development 3 05-05-2009 10:34 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:04 AM.

Futures, foreign currency and options trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.

CFTC Rules 4.41 - Hypothetical or Simulated performance results have certain limitations, unlike an actual performance record, simulated results do not represent actual trading. Also, since the trades have not been executed, the results may have under-or-over compensated for the impact, if any, of certain market factors, such as lack of liquidity. Simulated trading programs in general are also subject to the fact that they are designed with the benefit of hindsight. No representation is being made that any account will or is likely to achieve profit or losses similar to those shown.

This website is hosted and operated by NinjaTrader, LLC (“NT”), a software development company which owns and supports all proprietary technology relating to and including the NinjaTrader trading platform. NT is an affiliated company to NinjaTrader Brokerage (“NTB”), which is a NFA registered introducing broker (NFA #0339976) providing brokerage services to traders of futures and foreign exchange products. This website is intended for educational and informational purposes only and should not be viewed as a solicitation or recommendation of any product, service or trading strategy. No offer or solicitation to buy or sell securities, securities derivative or futures products of any kind, or any type of trading or investment advice, recommendation or strategy, is made, given, or in any manner endorsed by any NT affiliate and the information made available on this Web site is not an offer or solicitation of any kind. Specific questions related to a brokerage account should be sent to your broker directly. The content and opinions expressed on this website are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of NT or any of its affiliates. 

Vendors along with their websites, products and services, collectively referred to as (“Vendor Content”), are independent persons or companies that are in no manner affiliated with NT or any if its affiliates. NT or any of its affiliates are not responsible for, do not approve, recommend or endorse any Vendor Content referenced on this website and it’s your sole responsibility to evaluate Vendor Content. Please be aware that any performance information provided by a vendor should be considered hypothetical and must contain the disclosures required by NFA Rule 2-29(c). If you are interested in learning more about, or investigating the quality of, any such Vendor Content you must contact the vendor, provider or seller of such Vendor Content. No person employed by, or associated with, NT or any of its affiliates is authorized to provide any information about any such Vendor Content. Visit the CFTC resources for education regarding the industry and signs of fraud.