Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > NinjaTrader 7 > Platform Technical Support

Platform Technical Support General platform technical support for NinjaTrader 7.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-28-2011, 03:38 PM   #1
CaptainFill
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 63
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default Connection to ThinkorSwim (now TD Ameritrade)

I have just downloaded Ninjatrader 7 after a number of very high remarks to its ability to back test strategies.

My current broker is Think or Swim which has recently merged with TD Ameritrade. I haven't tried to connect to the TD as their systems have likely merged however I am unable to select them from the connections drop down list.

The only connections that I am able to choose from from add connection are:

Barchart.com
Esignal
Google
IQfeed
Kenetick
Yahoo

I also get this message upon starting NT7 - License Error: Your license could not be verified and is reset to "simulation only" mode.

Is this supposed to happen? I have the free version which doesn't allow live trading so this makes sense, but the notification is a bit annoying.

Thank you for the help, I'm excited to get this up and running!

Phil
CaptainFill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 03:49 PM   #2
NinjaTrader_RyanM1
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_RyanM1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 8,127
Thanks: 249
Thanked 434 times in 427 posts
Default

Hello Phil,

Welcome to the NinjaTrader forums! The most likely reason for seeing that message is due to a local firewall or router blocking the connection from your computer to NinjaTrader's license servers. You will need to disable any software which may be blocking the connection before restarting NinjaTrader. If you can add IP exceptions, the following will be needed:

* www.ninjatrader.com

* IP - 74.200.197.238
* Ports - 80 & 443

* www.ninjatrader-support2.com

* IP - 64.38.21.160
* Ports - 80 & 443
NinjaTrader_RyanM1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 04:13 PM   #3
CaptainFill
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 63
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

Thank you for the response, Ryan.

I have only Windows 7 firewall (which I made sure NT7 had access through) and Windows Security Essentials. I don't have any dopey Norton or AVG that would cause some highly differentiated outcomes. I attempted to fully disable both the firewall and the security essentials but that had no impact in NT's performance after restarting.

I do have a standard wireless router, but that really hasn't impacted anything else. I'd have to dig to figure out the admin settings for that and they tend to be fickle when you change things so I'd like to try and keep that last resort.

One thing I don't understand however is how the list of connectable service providers are limited and doesn't list the complete one that your connection tutorials suggest.

Thank you again, hopefully we can figure this one out.
CaptainFill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 04:31 PM   #4
NinjaTrader_RyanM1
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_RyanM1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 8,127
Thanks: 249
Thanked 434 times in 427 posts
Default

Seeing a limited amount of data providers is a symptom of the failed connection. If you have an opportunity, try plugging the computer directly into the modem rather than through a router. You will want to isolate as many local possibilities as you can. Since the license server is up and there are not other reported cases of this, there's something blocking the connection in-between your computer and the license server. Please let us know if you are not able to make progress.
Last edited by NinjaTrader_RyanM1; 09-28-2011 at 04:37 PM.
NinjaTrader_RyanM1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 04:50 PM   #5
sledge
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,891
Thanks: 1,433
Thanked 956 times in 823 posts
Default

1) your license key controls what you see. You need a different one to see tda.

2) tos does not provide any data connection. Only tda.
There is another thread about emailing tda about getting access for ninjatrader.(recent, like a day ago. Search for tda.)



Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainFill View Post
I have just downloaded Ninjatrader 7 after a number of very high remarks to its ability to back test strategies.

My current broker is Think or Swim which has recently merged with TD Ameritrade. I haven't tried to connect to the TD as their systems have likely merged however I am unable to select them from the connections drop down list.

The only connections that I am able to choose from from add connection are:

Barchart.com
Esignal
Google
IQfeed
Kenetick
Yahoo

I also get this message upon starting NT7 - License Error: Your license could not be verified and is reset to "simulation only" mode.

Is this supposed to happen? I have the free version which doesn't allow live trading so this makes sense, but the notification is a bit annoying.

Thank you for the help, I'm excited to get this up and running!

Phil
sledge is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 05:56 PM   #6
CaptainFill
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 63
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

No changes with connecting when directly connected via CAT5.

@Sledge - I will look into that, thank you.

I am attempting to reinstall NT7 but I cannot get past the download using my existing security code.

I've used it with the @, without, spaces, no spaces, hyphens and nothing worked. Should I request a new code?
CaptainFill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 10:35 PM   #7
sledge
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,891
Thanks: 1,433
Thanked 956 times in 823 posts
Default

I was on the bus earlier.. but here's the 'upgrading' to get TDA data -- re: api

http://www.ninjatrader.com/support/f...&highlight=tda

there have been issues recently, but they appear to be cleaned up. ( re: tda backfill issues , connections are spotty at times).

TDA is becoming a bunch of aholes now , istockmanager only available for android >= 2.2 ??

lots of pissed off 2.1 android users on the android market.. all because of some certificate issues from what I can tell

and even NinjaTrader doesn't get any response back from TDA (re: the backfill error issue for the past 6+ months which only got cleared up a few weeks ago but even then no response from TDA to NinjaTrader).

I'm about ready to pull all my $ out of TDA.. I gotta root my damn phone to get access to istockmanager?! JFC

yeah i'm pissed off, sorry.




Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainFill View Post
I have just downloaded Ninjatrader 7 after a number of very high remarks to its ability to back test strategies.

My current broker is Think or Swim which has recently merged with TD Ameritrade. I haven't tried to connect to the TD as their systems have likely merged however I am unable to select them from the connections drop down list.

The only connections that I am able to choose from from add connection are:

Barchart.com
Esignal
Google
IQfeed
Kenetick
Yahoo

I also get this message upon starting NT7 - License Error: Your license could not be verified and is reset to "simulation only" mode.

Is this supposed to happen? I have the free version which doesn't allow live trading so this makes sense, but the notification is a bit annoying.

Thank you for the help, I'm excited to get this up and running!

Phil
sledge is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 08:41 AM   #8
NinjaTrader_RyanM1
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_RyanM1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 8,127
Thanks: 249
Thanked 434 times in 427 posts
Default

CaptainFill,

A free license that is valid for downloading and all available connections, can be obtain threw registration at: http://www.ninjatrader.com/download-registration.php
NinjaTrader_RyanM1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 10:10 AM   #9
CaptainFill
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 63
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

Ryan. Got it! I was able to use my code without the @ to download the program and set it up. I went into Help > License Key and add the @. Everything works fine now.

Thank you
CaptainFill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 10:51 AM   #10
NinjaTrader_RyanM1
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_RyanM1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 8,127
Thanks: 249
Thanked 434 times in 427 posts
Default

Glad to hear it, Cap'n. Thanks for following up here.
NinjaTrader_RyanM1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
The following user says thank you to NinjaTrader_RyanM1 for this post:
Old 04-04-2013, 02:27 AM   #11
peregrine
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 75
Thanks: 17
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

I have a TOS account. What is the procedure to connect Ninjatrader to use TOS feed?
I will likely use Mirus as my primary after a month or two once I set an account up with them. I currrently have DLd a Mirus demo. I believe it is expired. Do I need a new license key? etc? To run off my Live TOS account. TOS will eventually become my back up data.

EDIT- be advised the FILE>CONNECT>SIMULATEDDATAFEED works fine.
Last edited by peregrine; 04-04-2013 at 02:32 AM.
peregrine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 02:37 AM   #12
NinjaTrader_Jason
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Breda, Netherlands
Posts: 14,698
Thanks: 227
Thanked 972 times in 944 posts
Default

Hello peregrine,

Unfortunately it is not supported to connect to a ThinkOrSwim account in NinjaTrader.

The free license key does not expire. You need to have new Zen-Fire username and password information or check with Mirus Futures if your demo can be extended.
NinjaTrader_Jason is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 04:56 AM   #13
NinjaTrader_Jason
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Breda, Netherlands
Posts: 14,698
Thanks: 227
Thanked 972 times in 944 posts
Default

Please note that only TD Ameritrade accounts are supported in NinjaTrader. You cannot connect to ThinkOrSwim (orange) accounts. You can connect to TD Ameritrade and send orders as long as the account is branded as a "green" account.
NinjaTrader_Jason is online now  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TD Ameritrade connection spotty trader_rick1234 Platform Technical Support 1 08-03-2011 09:47 AM
TD Ameritrade account connection... Sleeping Troll Platform Technical Support 1 08-05-2010 11:15 AM
ThinkorSwim by TD Ameritrade marv9901 Suggestions And Feedback 2 06-24-2010 01:55 PM
TD Ameritrade teaboy44 Platform Technical Support 4 07-14-2009 11:18 PM
TD Ameritrade connection sunnyrain Platform Technical Support 1 09-17-2008 01:43 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:14 AM.

Futures, foreign currency and options trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.

CFTC Rules 4.41 - Hypothetical or Simulated performance results have certain limitations, unlike an actual performance record, simulated results do not represent actual trading. Also, since the trades have not been executed, the results may have under-or-over compensated for the impact, if any, of certain market factors, such as lack of liquidity. Simulated trading programs in general are also subject to the fact that they are designed with the benefit of hindsight. No representation is being made that any account will or is likely to achieve profit or losses similar to those shown.

This website is hosted and operated by NinjaTrader, LLC (“NT”), a software development company which owns and supports all proprietary technology relating to and including the NinjaTrader trading platform. NT is an affiliated company to NinjaTrader Brokerage (“NTB”), which is a NFA registered introducing broker (NFA #0339976) providing brokerage services to traders of futures and foreign exchange products. This website is intended for educational and informational purposes only and should not be viewed as a solicitation or recommendation of any product, service or trading strategy. No offer or solicitation to buy or sell securities, securities derivative or futures products of any kind, or any type of trading or investment advice, recommendation or strategy, is made, given, or in any manner endorsed by any NT affiliate and the information made available on this Web site is not an offer or solicitation of any kind. Specific questions related to a brokerage account should be sent to your broker directly. The content and opinions expressed on this website are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of NT or any of its affiliates. 

Vendors along with their websites, products and services, collectively referred to as (“Vendor Content”), are independent persons or companies that are in no manner affiliated with NT or any if its affiliates. NT or any of its affiliates are not responsible for, do not approve, recommend or endorse any Vendor Content referenced on this website and it’s your sole responsibility to evaluate Vendor Content. Please be aware that any performance information provided by a vendor should be considered hypothetical and must contain the disclosures required by NFA Rule 2-29(c). If you are interested in learning more about, or investigating the quality of, any such Vendor Content you must contact the vendor, provider or seller of such Vendor Content. No person employed by, or associated with, NT or any of its affiliates is authorized to provide any information about any such Vendor Content. Visit the CFTC resources for education regarding the industry and signs of fraud.