Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > NinjaTrader 7 > Platform Technical Support

Platform Technical Support General platform technical support for NinjaTrader 7.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2011, 06:46 AM   #1
silverpuma
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 37
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default What version of MB Trading Nav for NT7

Hi, I have a live account with MB Trading UK. What version of MB Trading Navigator software do I need to connect my live NT7?

Also do I need to have MBT Navigator opened when I am using NT7?

Thanks..........
silverpuma is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 06:54 AM   #2
NinjaTrader_Bertrand
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Bertrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 26,203
Thanks: 487
Thanked 1,840 times in 1,781 posts
Default

silverpuma, it would depend which NT7 version you're running here, the 2 versions possible are listed in this guide - http://www.ninjatrader.com/Connectio...tion-Guide.php (it includes the download link as well).

Don't open the Navigator separately, let NT does this as it connects, just choose to 'load the MBT Nav window' as part of your account connection options.
NinjaTrader_Bertrand is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 08:07 AM   #3
Crassius
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 195
Thanks: 42
Thanked 35 times in 27 posts
Default

You'll find that running the latest release 7.0.1000.7 in conjuction with the recommended DeskTop version 11.8.0.38 solves some issues we were having with MB Trading and tick data collection and storage in the database.

I highly recommend using the latest release if you will be getting your data from MB Trading.
Crassius is offline  
Reply With Quote
The following user says thank you to Crassius for this post:
Old 11-08-2011, 08:59 AM   #4
silverpuma
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 37
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Ok I have been able to get my MB Trading and NT working and connected.

But on the Jpy pairs I'm getting the wrong $ values it is showing for example $79.12 in profit where it should be $7.91. It is a decimal point issue how do I change this? Do I need to make this change for every pair that the jpy is in?

Thanks in advance.....................;-)
silverpuma is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 09:22 AM   #5
NinjaTrader_Matthew
NinjaTrader Product Management
 
NinjaTrader_Matthew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 6,961
Thanks: 268
Thanked 1,332 times in 1,133 posts
Default

Hello,

Are the ticks the correct size, it is just the PnL that is incorrect? Are these live or simulation orders?

What was the order qty you used, regular, mini or micro lot? (e.g., 0.1M, .01M, .001M)
NinjaTrader_Matthew is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 09:42 AM   #6
silverpuma
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 37
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NinjaTrader_Matthew View Post
Hello,

Are the ticks the correct size, it is just the PnL that is incorrect? Are these live or simulation orders?

What was the order qty you used, regular, mini or micro lot? (e.g., 0.1M, .01M, .001M)
Sim but live tomorrow if I can get this sorted

0.01M see screenshot.

Pips are shown correctly in chart-trader but not PnL
Attached Images
File Type: png Capturentjpy.PNG (122.9 KB, 5 views)
silverpuma is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 09:59 AM   #7
NinjaTrader_Matthew
NinjaTrader Product Management
 
NinjaTrader_Matthew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 6,961
Thanks: 268
Thanked 1,332 times in 1,133 posts
Default

Hello,

Thanks for the screen shot. The pips are being calculated correctly.

Is the PnL correct on a USD based pair?

When trading non-USD based pairs, you will need to ensure you have data streaming for the related USD conversion pairs prior to placing these orders. This would be required for required for accurate PnL reporting.

Pleaes try loading a JPYUSD and EURUSD pairs in another window like a Market Analyzer for the PnL to be calculated correctly moving forward.
NinjaTrader_Matthew is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 10:11 AM   #8
silverpuma
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 37
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NinjaTrader_Matthew View Post
Hello,

Thanks for the screen shot. The pips are being calculated correctly.

Is the PnL correct on a USD based pair?

When trading non-USD based pairs, you will need to ensure you have data streaming for the related USD conversion pairs prior to placing these orders. This would be required for required for accurate PnL reporting.

Pleaes try loading a JPYUSD and EURUSD pairs in another window like a Market Analyzer for the PnL to be calculated correctly moving forward.
On the eur/usd or gbp/usd everything is fine its only on pairs which have the jpy in them.

I tried usd/jpy but its is wrong. I had a 0.1M size but each pip is $10 not $1

Sorry but I don't understand what you mean by.....
Quote:
When trading non-USD based pairs, you will need to ensure you have data streaming for the related USD conversion pairs prior to placing these orders. This would be required for required for accurate PnL reporting.

Pleaes try loading a JPYUSD and EURUSD pairs in another window like a Market Analyzer for the PnL to be calculated correctly moving forward
I had assumed that there would be some way in NT on all the pairs that are giving me the incorrect PnL to change the pip/decimal value so this would be corrected?
silverpuma is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 10:16 AM   #9
NinjaTrader_Matthew
NinjaTrader Product Management
 
NinjaTrader_Matthew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 6,961
Thanks: 268
Thanked 1,332 times in 1,133 posts
Default

NinjaTrader needs data for the corresponding cross pair to convert this to USD correctly for the PnL in USD

You would not be able to correct the PnL value on the previously executed trades, however as long as you have streaming data for these calculations, you should see the correct PnL reported moving forward.
NinjaTrader_Matthew is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 10:23 AM   #10
silverpuma
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 37
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NinjaTrader_Matthew View Post
NinjaTrader needs data for the corresponding cross pair to convert this to USD correctly for the PnL in USD

You would not be able to correct the PnL value on the previously executed trades, however as long as you have streaming data for these calculations, you should see the correct PnL reported moving forward.
mmmmh, It must be my grey hair and the 1.5 brain cells haveLOL.

I read your reply, but what do I change? As I noted above the usd/jpy is still incorrect. I'm not worried about old trades these are finished. I'm concerned when trading live and the PnL is wrong. I have streaming data for all 20 pairs and all this seems fine but again I say the jpy ones are not handling the PnL correctly. I need to change something for these to work. What do I change?
silverpuma is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 10:26 AM   #11
NinjaTrader_Matthew
NinjaTrader Product Management
 
NinjaTrader_Matthew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 6,961
Thanks: 268
Thanked 1,332 times in 1,133 posts
Default

Were these pairs streaming in the Market Analyzer before you entered this position?
NinjaTrader_Matthew is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 10:32 AM   #12
silverpuma
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 37
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

No. But are you saying that I must have the Market Analyzer running before I enter my trades or the PnL on the jpy pairs will be incorrect? I traded futures with VFM and never had the MA on I never used it.
silverpuma is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 10:56 AM   #13
NinjaTrader_Matthew
NinjaTrader Product Management
 
NinjaTrader_Matthew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 6,961
Thanks: 268
Thanked 1,332 times in 1,133 posts
Default

Hello,

Yes, with non USD based pairs, you must have the corresponding cross pair data streaming in NinjaTrader for the PnL to calculate correctly.

This would not be true on any USD based pairs or futures as futures are using USD to calculate and there is no cross conversation that needs to take place.
NinjaTrader_Matthew is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which is better for stock trading? Td Ameritrade or MB Trading? ILoveSax Platform Technical Support 7 01-12-2014 03:15 AM
MB Trading to MB Trading UK jackson Platform Technical Support 1 11-01-2011 12:51 AM
Proper MB TRading Desk Top Version for 7.0.100.7 Crassius Platform Technical Support 1 10-07-2011 03:12 PM
Trading Live with MB Trading disconnects? ErikHR Platform Technical Support 27 04-15-2011 01:11 PM
micro trading on NT with MB trading shan777 Platform Technical Support 9 06-01-2010 02:24 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:01 AM.

Futures, foreign currency and options trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.

CFTC Rules 4.41 - Hypothetical or Simulated performance results have certain limitations, unlike an actual performance record, simulated results do not represent actual trading. Also, since the trades have not been executed, the results may have under-or-over compensated for the impact, if any, of certain market factors, such as lack of liquidity. Simulated trading programs in general are also subject to the fact that they are designed with the benefit of hindsight. No representation is being made that any account will or is likely to achieve profit or losses similar to those shown.

This website is hosted and operated by NinjaTrader, LLC (“NT”), a software development company which owns and supports all proprietary technology relating to and including the NinjaTrader trading platform. NT is an affiliated company to NinjaTrader Brokerage (“NTB”), which is a NFA registered introducing broker (NFA #0339976) providing brokerage services to traders of futures and foreign exchange products. This website is intended for educational and informational purposes only and should not be viewed as a solicitation or recommendation of any product, service or trading strategy. No offer or solicitation to buy or sell securities, securities derivative or futures products of any kind, or any type of trading or investment advice, recommendation or strategy, is made, given, or in any manner endorsed by any NT affiliate and the information made available on this Web site is not an offer or solicitation of any kind. Specific questions related to a brokerage account should be sent to your broker directly. The content and opinions expressed on this website are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of NT or any of its affiliates. 

Vendors along with their websites, products and services, collectively referred to as (“Vendor Content”), are independent persons or companies that are in no manner affiliated with NT or any if its affiliates. NT or any of its affiliates are not responsible for, do not approve, recommend or endorse any Vendor Content referenced on this website and it’s your sole responsibility to evaluate Vendor Content. Please be aware that any performance information provided by a vendor should be considered hypothetical and must contain the disclosures required by NFA Rule 2-29(c). If you are interested in learning more about, or investigating the quality of, any such Vendor Content you must contact the vendor, provider or seller of such Vendor Content. No person employed by, or associated with, NT or any of its affiliates is authorized to provide any information about any such Vendor Content. Visit the CFTC resources for education regarding the industry and signs of fraud.