Top

Tips to Manage Workspaces in NinjaTrader

NinjaTrader workspaces allow users to create, save and access custom platform layouts quickly.

A workspace is a collection of windows in NinjaTrader which includes charts, settings, technical indicators and drawing objects. Users may employ multiple workspaces for different asset types, strategies, time frames and more.

See how to create and manage workspaces in this quick video overview:

Workspaces Menu

The Workspaces menu, found at the top of the Control Center, displays all active and available workspaces. From here you can open, close, save, rename and toggle between open workspaces.

By default, an “Untitled” workspace is created when you first launch NinjaTrader.

To create a new workspace:

  1. Click Workspaces > new
  2. Type a name for your new workspace
  3. Click OK

Managing Multiple Workspaces

Open workspaces are indicated with a rectangle icon to the left of the workspace name. If there is no icon, the workspace is closed. To open a closed workspace, left click the workspace name.

Although many workspaces can be open concurrently, only one workspace can be viewed at a time. This will be referenced as the “active” workspace. The currently active workspace is indicated with a green rectangle to the left of its name.

To toggle between open workspaces:

  1. Click Workspaces
  2. Left click the desired workspace you wish to select as active
  3. Alternatively, pressing the hot key combination Shift+F3 will also toggle between open workspaces

To close a workspace, hover over the desired workspace and left click close. The options to save, save as, and remove a workspace are also available.

Save Often and Exit NinjaTrader via the Control Center

While building and customizing workspaces, saving often is recommended to retain modifications.

Additionally, to ensure that an existing workspace is never replaced by a blank workspace, always exit NinjaTrader from the Control Center by clicking the red X in the top right-hand corner. Next, a prompt will appear asking whether to save open workspaces prior to exiting the platform. Clicking Yes to all will save all open workspaces and then close NinjaTrader.

Restoring from Workspace Backups

With the automatic workspace backup feature, each time a workspace is saved, a backup is saved separately to a recovery location. This allows users to restore from previous versions of a saved workspace whenever necessary.

To restore from a workspace which was previously backed up:

  1. Navigate to the Control Center, then click Tools > Database Management
  2. From the Database Management window, expand the Restore workspace section, then click the Restore button
  3. Select the appropriate folder and file, and click Open

NinjaTrader is always free to use for advanced charting, strategy backtesting and trade simulation. Get started building custom workspaces with an award-winning trading platform!