Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

NT8 - First time user's feeling

Here is my first feedback on the NT8 beta 8.0.0.2

I must say that it is a very good work. A BIG WELL DONE to the NinjaTrader's Team.

My first feeling when I swap from NT7 to NT8 was very good actually. As a brand new user of NT8, I was not lost in a brand new UI but on the contrary it seemed very familiar. The changes (as far as I saw) are quite good and intuitive giving a great User experience.

The migration from NT7 to NT8 worked fine and I was able to connect to Kinetick and open a chart without any trouble.

As a Trader, I can't say much more things because I don't have my indicators translated in NT8 nor my working environment.

As a developer, I must say that the changes in the NinjaScript editor are quite good. Still the same thing : it is plenty of little details which make the UI very comfortable and easy to use.
    Of course the .NET framework is also a very good thing and this was my first expectation for NT8. C# is a powerful language, with many improvements. I hope you will be able to update the framework when a new one will be available without coding a new version of NT from scratch.
    I've started to translate my indicators and it is less complicated than what I was expecting even if I experimented some trouble (see below). The documentation and coding examples are a great help.

Just few things :
    1. I've reported a bug here regarding the DashStyleHelper. I can't make it work and I can't see where I'm wrong.
    2. I think there is a little "Copy/Paste" error in the documentation regarding the "Multi-Objective Optimization". There are 3 subsections, and the first and second are relative to the "Walk Forward Optimization". The third is fine.