Learning NT 7 vs NT 8 (Beta)?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Learning NT 7 vs NT 8 (Beta)?

Hi, thanks for taking the time to read my post.

I'm new to Ninja Trader and just downloaded the 8th version (Beta).
    I have previous experience coding in python doing very basic back testing, but I'm essentially starting new here since it's very different.

Question:
    For a beginner like myself, would you recommend I jump right into NT 8 and being learning the ins and outs? or should I opt for Ninja Trader 7? I have an idea for an algorithm that I'm trying to develop and Im curious where to start regarding this software.

Hard to say... But I would vote for NT8... It's getting close to being 'ready' for prime time... especially if you have a nice multi-core system with lots of ram..64 bit windows OS...

I started with NT6.5 but NT7 was coming out - it wasn't MUCH of a change as is NT7 to NT8 is...almost no real code changes..

But NT8 went to multi-threading, along with .NET 4.5.. and some internal changes... so the code is a lot more different.

Currently - I only run live with NT7... I've run only 1 replay test in NT7 since NT8 Beta1 release last June 2015? (That was only to verify that NT8 was at least "close" in results.. I wasn't expecting exact..but in the ballpark for 2 years worth of data).

NT8B11 should clean up a lot of issues in Beta10 related to replay.

Comment

Hello mwait,

Thanks for your post and welcome to the forums!

If you are new to trading I would recommend beginning with NinjaTrader 7 as this is a mature, well known product and will continue to be supported for a number of years. What you would learn in NT7 would translate to NinjaTrader 8 as part of the design of NinjaTrader 8 is to provide relatively the same look and feel. NinjaTrader 7 has a larger base of user training and reference materials available to assist with learning and using.