Three Line Stochastics

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Three Line Stochastics

I am brand new to NT, and would characterize myself as a novice with scripts and indicator programming. My request is for someone well versed in this arena, to explain in layman's terms how to create a new stochastics indicator with an additional line or period. I am including an example of what I am looking for.

Parameters:
    • Overall Period (14) - the number of periods used to determine the highest high and lowest low.
    • %K MA Period (3) - the number of periods used to determine the moving average for the %K value.
    • %D MA Period (3) - the number of periods used to determine the moving average for the %D value.
    • AdditionalLinePeriod (3) - the number of periods used to determine an additional Moving Average on the Stochastic."

These parameters can go up to 999 for each line and they plot three different visible lines on the graphs.

I was able to use this indicator when I was using Futuresource, way back when.

I am not sure if this has been requested before for NT 7, so a link may well suffice. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Hello Gmicc,

Welcome to the NinjaTrader forums!

This is pretty close to the standard stochastic indicator so you can work from that if you want to develop your own script. Edit the standard stochastic indicator then Right Click > Save as to make a copy of it. You can add an additional plot here if you like. Please see here for an introductory guide to indicator development in NinjaTrader.

You can also do this with no custom programming. Apply stochastics to the chart and then add an SMA to it. You can select other indicators as your input series when you apply the SMA. Please see here for help working with indicators.
    Ryan M.NinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Ryan,