Total Beginner Importing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Total Beginner Importing

Sorry, but I recieved a script in pdf format of which looks to be in raw source code.

How do I import the code to my scripts? It looks like the NT>bin>custom>indicator tree is asking for a .cs file, but I have no idea on how to convert. Any assistance or direction to a link for instructions please?

jasterm, to convert this to an indicator, please open up Notepad and copy + paste the code into Notepad and then save it as a .cs file in the My Documents/NinjaTrader 7/bin/custom/indicator folder. From here, you will have to open the file in NinjaTrader (Tools -> Edit NinjaScript -> Indicator) and then compile (F5 key). After it compiles successfully, you will be able to use the script.
    AustinNinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Almost there...

Thanks Austin. I've gotten so far as compiling, but when I try to open a chart and open the indicator button to locate it, it still doesn't show. I've verified the file is in the correct folder, but it seems unavailable. One thing I noticed, is that in the indicator folder, all of the titles have an "@" symbol before the name. I tried adding that to the file name, but it was still not appearing... Am I missing a step?
      Last edited by jasterm; 03-26-2011, 11:30 PM.

Comment

Jasterm, are there any errors after compiling? If not, the indicator should appear. What type of indicator is it? If it is a bar type, for example, it does not belong in the /indicators folder. The indicators with @ in front are system indicators (they come built-in) and cannot be edited in the NinjaTrader editor window.

Please also check the logs (right-most tab of Control Center) and see if there are any errors there.

Comment