Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Newbie Code Help --- ATR Multiple for Stop

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie Code Help --- ATR Multiple for Stop

I'm new to NT, and fairly new to programming and have never used C#. Once a buy/sell condition has been met, I'm trying to write the code to set my stop and profit target correctly based on a multiple of the most recent ATR. It doesn't have to adjust the stops (i.e. dynamically modify the stop levels as each subsequent bar comes in) after the original buy/sell order has been filled. Rather, right when the buy/sell order is generated it needs to look back at the last 'x' amount of bars (25 in the code below) to calculate the most recent ATR, multiply it, and then set both the stop and profit limit orders accordingly.

My feeble attempt at this is below (only the main sections of the code included), and I'm getting the CS0102 error saying for the properties section saying that Variable0 and 1 are already defined. If I comment out the 'properties' code, I get CS0019 saying I can't apply an operand '*' to type 'int' and 'Ninjatrader.Indicator.ATR'.

Guidance here would be appreciated...Thanks,

KCSystemTrader

#region Variables section...

private int period1 = 25; // Default setting for Period1
    private double Variable0 = 0.500; // Default ATR for stop loss
    private double Variable1 = 1.000; // Default ATR for take profit

protected override void Initialize() Section...

//Custom code to calculate latest ATR reading and set stop and profit target levels
    Add(ATR(Period1)); //This adds the ATR to the chart (I think)
    Variable0 = 3 * ATR(Period1);
    Variable1 = 6 * ATR(Period1);