Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Debugging Strategy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Debugging Strategy

Hi I downloaded Visual Studio 2008 there is free trial for 90 days - in order to try to debug my ninjascript more easily. Im no expert programmer - have never touched c# before NT...but I wonder if someone might be able to help.

I was able to at least look at some variables whilst running VS (rather than using the more awkward output window /print functions in the local editor - and it all looked fine as I stepped through it. However, I would like to see things graphically as well, as I think that some instances are not being correctly picked up. So I want to draw a series of dots on the chart to indicate when various condition are met.

This would use the DawDot() function - which I have the details for. My problem is that I cant seem to invoke it for all the historical bars in the chart. I suppose this has something to do with the OnBarUpdate() method that I have put it in.

What I basically want is for it to run across all historical bars and plot values below the lows or above the highs of all historical bars in a series.

So something on the lines of

For each Bar in Historical Data

If (EMA(20) > EMA (200)) ;
    {DrawDot(I understand all these parameters - and will offset each by 2 ticks, 4 ticks, 6 ticks etc from the lows or highs so the dots from differeing conditions will not overlap on each bar)}

If (MACD > 0));

DrawDot () etc

and so on until I graphically illustrate all instances of conditions being true on a chart. I can then look at the autogenerated buy or sell signals to see if they tally.