Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Advice on Learning how to Program for NT

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice on Learning how to Program for NT

Hi,

I've been using NT for a while and plan to continue using for some time to come. But for me to really achieve my goals for indicators, backtesting and Autotrading I need to learn how to program and start writing my own scripts.

Any suggestions on how one gets started in this world of programming? I thought of taking a class on C# at a local community college or books on the subject. But are there any better methods out there that could shorten the learning curve a bit and be more focused? I have ZERO experience in programming.

Thanks.

NickF

Hello,

First, what I would do is attend one of our beginner level development events for free:

That will give you a starting point. Then just start programming and posting questions on this forum. Its like learning a spoken language, you have to use it to learn it. The index on the help guide is helpful:

Also, go through these tutorials:
    DenNinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Learning C#

Nick

I found the Sams book learn C# in 24 hours to be excellent. It explains things in a really basic way which was ideal for me.

There are a number of web sites you could try. One that has been recommended on this forum is http://www.homeandlearn.co.uk/csharp/csharp.html which details a basic C# course. Try the MSDN site for some comprehensive C sharp learning videos. These will be based around C# programming using Visual Studio but you can download Visual Studio Express for now charge and use it permanently to learn C#.