Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Breakout Strategy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Breakout Strategy

Hello,

Sorry but i am a newbie and am having issues trying to figure out how to do a simple breakout stratgy to back test. I am wanting to take the first 30 min bar range and do a buy at the top of the break and a sell at the bottom of the break. Could anyone point me in the right direction on how to acchomplish this. Thanks in advance for your help

PGK

Welcome to our forums - please take a look at this reference sample here for this task - http://www.ninjatrader.com/support/f...ead.php?t=3223
    BertrandNinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Thanks Bertand,

I have tried that but it seems that i cannot edit the strategy in the wizard. When i try and edit it it only gives me the script code which i do not know how to edit. Are there any instructions on how i can do this by using the wizard? I think that would help me. My real issue is inputting the variables in the wizard etc. Your help is greatly appreciated.

Comment

Correct, this sample would involve the 'raw' NinjaScript custom code.

In the wizard you can start by setting up a time condition to save the needed bar high and low to a variable so you can later (in another condition set) place trades based on this being crossed by price.

Comment

Thanks Bertand,

What would i put as my input values under the "user defined inputs" in the wizard. ?

Comment