Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

learning to code

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

learning to code

I have no experience in programming and I need to learn the most direct and effective way to learn ninja script. My trading is very complex and I will want to be able to test many different setups so I will need to learn very extensively. I am willing to do whatever it takes to do it but I just don't know where to start. Do I need to become proficient in c #? If so all the courses I looked into said that I should have some kind of programming experience before I take a course in c # so what should I study to become prepared? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hello Kevind33,

Welcome to the NinjaTrader forums!

Programming can be very challenging, but there are lots of resources within the NinjaTrader environment to get up to speed on NinjaScript without an extensive programming background.

It may help to know C# but NinjaScript is pretty self-contained. Learning within our environment will probably be the fastest approach. If you encounter terms or concepts that are confusing, having a C# / programming reference handy may help to get a broader understanding of what is going on.

I recommend starting with the NinjaScript tutorials. They help break down the structure of NinjaScript, and where you'll spend most of your time writing the code. They'll also help getting you started on writing code right away.
    http://www.ninjatrader-support.com/HelpGuideV6/Overview23.html

The strategy wizard is a good place for identifying syntax. You can create conditions in a point and click interface and then view code for these conditions.