Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Multi-series help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Multi-series help

Hi, I am new to Ninja Trader however I am a proficient C# developer and certified DBA.

I've been looking around to see how it would be possible to implement an automated trading strategy which utilizes 2 or 3 series.

For example, many traders who trade intraday would be looking at 1x series time based chart, for example a 30 second minute chart and comparing the movements or trends with a longer time scale chart, for example, this may be coupled with a 5 minute chart and a 15 minute chart to get a better reading of the market trend.

Now at the point where I see my trigger patterns on the 30 second chart, for example, I see that I have a particular pattern of bars and the bar that had just closed is above some EMA's, How would I be able to access the exact values of the EMA's let's say in the 5 minute or 15 minute charts at this precise point in time with regards to the exact trading price or XLast?

I know I would have to select, calculate on barclose for the 30 second chart to True and false for the other series, however I have not found any solid example of how to access the other series values from my 30 second chart.

I need to do this so that I can confirm a trend or identify a pattern.

Is this possible? Any help in the right direction would be appreciated. Even if it is a sample script that maybe almost unrelated but shows the ability to access the precise values of the other series at that instant.

Many thanks in advance.

David

Hi David,