Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

DataSeries.Count

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

DataSeries.Count

I am new to Ninja, and trying to fully understand how MaximumBarsLookBack works.

To that effect, I created a simple indicator with a private DataSeries SS_State which was initialized this way (in Initialize()):

SS_State = new DataSeries(this, MaximumBarsLookBack.TwoHundredFiftySix);

Then, in OnBarUpdate(), I query the oldest value in SS_State:

Print("BAR# " + CurrentBar + " ; SS_State[SS_State.Count-1] = " + SS_State[SS_State.Count-1]);

This generates the following exception:
    Exception BAR# 2546 : System.ArgumentException: barsAgo needed to be between 0 and 255 but was 2546

It turns out that SS_State.Count returns values up to CurrentBar, where I was expecting it to return values up to 256 (since that object was created with a max 256 bars LookBack.).

Is this a bug? If not, how can I assess the number of datapoints in a DataSeries object?

Thanks in advance

Hello,

Welcome to the forum! Thanks for the post. I am happy to help.

The “MaximumBarsLookBack” is basically the maximum size that the data series will be allowed to be when looking back in historical data for your calculation in “OnBarUpdate()”. The data series will still be built up from the first bar on the chart. This is to help with the memory performance aspect of NinjaTrader. Whereas “count” is the total number of bars in a data series.