Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Sell when price drops below a certain level.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sell when price drops below a certain level.

Hello everyone. I am new to Ninja Trader and have no programming background hence I am using the strategy wizard to build my strategy. I have been building my strategy within the wizard and am starting to get more comfortable with it. However I've run into a problem I can't seem to solve. I need some help to place instructions using the wizard to sell once price drops below the lowest low in the last 10 days. Is this possible to do simply using the strategy wizard? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Hello,

Thank you for your post and welcome to our forums!

This would be possible, however it would require that you run the strategy on a Daily interval.

You can easily setup this condition by Comparing the Price Data--> Close to the "Misc"--> "Lowest Bar" function, with 10 as the Period.
    Attached Files
    MatthewNinjaTrader Product Management

Comment

Thanks for your quick reply. Setting up the condition is quite simple as you outlined, however, when I backtest this, it doesn't seem to capture my sell instructions. You mentioned running the strategy on a daily interval, where would I specify this? Just to make sure I'm inputting this correctly, I've put these instructions in the section where it says, "when the following conditions are true" in the wizard. I've then put "exit long" in the section where it says, "do the following" just to keep things simple. Did I input this correct and in the right spot/format?

Comment

Hello,

Yes, that should be in the correct place.