Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Basic coding script questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Basic coding script questions

I have a few basic questions concerning code scripting. Please note that I am an almost total newbie, have read some of the NT Tutorials and am trying to get into this subject. I opened the code for NT's "SMA" indicator to formulate my questions:

Each indicator code script seems to have three basic sections.

1. The first section, when expanded, lists some declarations (like using System.Diagnostics;
    using System.Drawing;etc etc.) - I do not change these. Correct?

2. The second section contains - in this case for the SMA indicator - three sub sections:

2.0. First it states the name of the indicator with: "public class SMA : Indicator". This is where I give my indicator a name, correct?

2.1. It then has a sub-section "Variables" which begins with #region and ends with #endregion:
    private int period = 14; Once the indicator building is complete, this is what shows up as the default value. Correct?

2.2. Now come the sub-sections called
    "protected override void Initialize()" and
    "protected override void OnBarUpdate()". No question on these because I believe there is plenty of explanations in the NT Help section which I will study.

2.3. Now comes a sub-section called "#region Properties". Why is the earlier subsection "private int" but this one "public int"? Where can I read something about the difference between the two?