Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Entering and Exiting on the same day

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Entering and Exiting on the same day

Hi,

I would like to be able to enter and exit positions on the same day when back testing a strategy in Ninja Trader on daily data.

For e.g. enter at today's open and exit at today's close ( do not delay entry or exit by one bar)

It would seem that this should be something very simple to code yet I have seen a number of people have had the same problem with no current resolution available.

Does anyone know of a solution as to how this can be achieved with out having to use intra day data?

I'm an experienced C# programmer so any kind of work around would be most help full.

Hello Beach01,

The trouble is that the close price is not known for the next day since you only have access to the Daily Data. So the only way that you can have an exit order on the same day without Intraday data would be to use the SetStopLoss or SetProfitTarget orders.

Note that you can use Market Replay for some intraday data so that you can test out your strategy.

Here is a link to our Market Replay webinar that you may view to see if this will work for you.

Happy to be of further assistance.
    JCNinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Hi JC,

Thank you for your response.

It is extremely frutrating that Ninja Trader can not do such a simple back test as entering a trade at the open and exiting the trade at the close on the same day. I have looked around the web and there have been numerous queries/complaints on various forums including this one that such an easy task can not be achieved in Ninja Trader.