Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Walk Forward - same parameters, different results?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Walk Forward - same parameters, different results?

Hi community,

i am new to WF and don't get it why the results vary everytime i execute a WF with same parameters... in my (obviously wrong) thinking, the results should always be the same, since the optimization is always picking the best parameters (does it?) which should be the same for the optimization-period if nothing was changed. How in this case is it possible to get reliable results to use for the next period? If i click 10 times on WF, i will get 10 different values which is not much of worth...

Can someone please help me solving that knot? Many thanks in advance

Originally posted by puravida View Post
    Hi community,

i am new to WF and don't get it why the results vary everytime i execute a WF with same parameters... in my (obviously wrong) thinking, the results should always be the same, since the optimization is always picking the best parameters (does it?) which should be the same for the optimization-period if nothing was changed. How in this case is it possible to get reliable results to use for the next period? If i click 10 times on WF, i will get 10 different values which is not much of worth...

Can someone please help me solving that knot? Many thanks in advance
    Which optimizer are you using: Default or Genetic?

Comment

Hello puravida,

Thank you for your post.

The Genetic option for 'Optimizer' as suggested by Koganam could be the cause here. If you are using Genetic try using Default instead.