Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Place Buy order and Sell order at same time.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Place Buy order and Sell order at same time.

Hi all,

I am new to Ninja Trader. I have tried to place a buy order and a sell order when it receives the first tick after market open. But the strategy only executes the first order and ignores the second one. But I can successfully to place many same-direction orders. Is there a way to work around this?

Thank you.
    Sean

I suppose you are talking about NinjaScript strategies and not ATM strategies. If the former, then yes, this is a current limitation, you can not place 2 orders at both sides of the market.

Comment

Thank you for your fast reply Dierk. But I cannot believe it this is too unreasonable. This should be a very basic function for most trading systems. Are there any ways to work around this?

Comment

The SetProfitTarget()/SetStopLoss() methods don't have this limitation.

Comment

I have the same need to place a sell stop order and a buy stop order at the same time. I thought I should be able to do it in the script as long as I use different signal names. I found my second order was ignored and I searched the forum for a clue and ran into this thread. The limition is very surprising not only because it a common requirement for breakout strategies but also because I can do so in the SuperDOM.

Why can the NT UI handle two orders of different directions but I can't in the script? Thanks!

Comment

You can't place entry order at different sides of the market. You can place exit orders at different sides of the market though.

Comment