Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

limit orders, market replay and the ten minute time frame

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

limit orders, market replay and the ten minute time frame

I am relatively new to NinjaScript and shorter time frames. I have written some code that buys on limit and sells on limit and have provisionally tested it on Market Replay.

I am used to Wealth-Script, longer time frames and limit orders where there is no slippage. It troubles me to see that the fills are sometimes outside my limit as defined by the bands of the previous bar. I would very much prefer that the trade was not filled if there were insufficient volume rather than be slightly outside of my limit.

Is this more likely something I am doing wrong with my code or my misunderstanding of the real life application of limits. Is there a way to minimize or avoid this problem?
    Attached Files

Hello johnls101,

Thanks for your post and welcome to the forums.

You may wish to review the helpguide here for general reference: http://ninjatrader.com/support/helpG...ime_vs_bac.htm

To further assist we would need to understand what entry/exit methods you used and what differences you have observed between the orders placed/filled.
    Paul H.NinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Thank you Paul.

I understand that there may be differences between live trading and back testing and I have read the part of the help guide that you raised, but I would like to ask one general question without going to code.