Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Building a class with NT indicator

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Building a class with NT indicator

Hello together,
    guess I have a stupid question, but I am not that experienced in building classes.

I have a working method and I try to put this method into a class. Everything works fine till I get to the line with the ZZ Indicator.

public class Class_ZZ_Test{

private Indicator Indicator = new Indicator();

public void DefineZigZag(){

Indicator.Log("Test Begin",LogLevel.Information);
    int ZZhigh_ago = Indicator.ZigZag(DeviationType.Points, 0.1, true).HighBar(0, 1, 100);
    int ZZlow_ago = Indicator.ZigZag(DeviationType.Points, 0.1, true).LowBar(0, 1, 100);
    Indicator.Log("Test End",LogLevel.Information);

double ZZhighValue = Indicator.ZigZag(DeviationType.Points, 0.1, true).ZigZagHigh[ZZhigh_ago];
    double ZZlowValue = Indicator.ZigZag(DeviationType.Points, 0.1, true).ZigZagLow[ZZlow_ago];
    }

~Class_ZZ_Test() { }

}
    I get an log entry "Test Begin", but the line:
    int ZZhigh_ago = Indicator.ZigZag(DeviationType.Points, 0.1, true).HighBar(0, 1, 100);
    throws an exception, which is so hard, that I have to use try / catch. Otherwise NT 8 crash.

What is my mistake? Is it not possible to call the ZZ Indicator inside a class?

Thanks for your help
    uupsa
    Last edited by uupsa; 02-10-2016, 10:13 AM.

Hello,

Thank you for the question.

It is hard to say what specifically is happening based on what has been provided, I do see you are creating a new instance of a the base indicator class Indicator:

Code:
    and later using the new instance and calling the ZigZag from it:

Code:
    Indicator.ZigZag