Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

What does OnBarUpdate() return when...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What does OnBarUpdate() return when...

Hello,

I'm an NTD newb... However, (humbly) I am a seasoned C# developer. I was wondering if / where I can find more detailed / granular documentation on functions like "OnBarUpdate()". (White papers)

In the case of OnBarUpdate() I'd like to see how it was written and how it is constructed to handle different return values. In this documentation

it states:

"If the "CalculateOnBarClose" property is set to true, it is only called on the close of each bar, otherwise it is called on each incoming tick."

more specifically: "...it is only called on the close of each bar, otherwise it is called on each incoming tick."

This indicates to me OnBarUpdate() returns a double (or float).

Question: Is there an overload for OnBarUpdate() that returns an array of values or would I have to write that? The algorithm I want to write and test needs tick data for a given time series.

In a nutshell... I've got questions that the online documentation doesn't address. Where can I find that information? Also, is there a Git repository of examples I can look at?

Thank You for anything!
    Robert

Hmmm... It doesn't return anything. It's void.

Code:
    protected override void OnBarUpdate()
    {
        if (CurrentBar < 1)
            return;

// Compares the primary bar's low price to the 5-minute bar's low price
        if (Low[0] > Lows[1])
             Print("The current bar's low price is greater");
    }
    Now it does allow you access to all sorts of things related to price data:

Comment