Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Custom Indicator not working properly from strategy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Custom Indicator not working properly from strategy

Hi NinjaTrader Forum & Support team.

I'm a software developer but relatively new to NinjaTrader.

I have a custom indicator which is working correctly on a chart,
    And that performed correctly from a strategy a couple of days ago
    (Put out results on strategy analyzer, entered trades correctly etc.)

A day passed, and I went back to run the strategy in strategy analyzer after further development and the custom indicator included In it, and I run into the Object Reference not set to an instance of an object.(only internal logic of the strategy itself was added,nothing was changed in regards to instantiating indicators)

Further investigation revealed that the OnStartUp method of my custom indicators
    Are no longer getting fired when called from the strategy, and therefore it's public Members are not getting instantiated, leading to Object Reference not set to an instance of an object when called upon from the containing strategy

The strategy itself is a MTF strategy.

I use visual studio for developing and debugging, and it's really easy to see that everytime I'm creating an instance custom indicator from a strategy, it's not hitting the OnStartUp() method even once. again, I'd like to remind that independently on a chart, all of my custom indicators work properly

My custom Indicator doesn't plot anything, so I haven't added it using the Add() method (although i tried adding the custom indicators using the Add() methond as well, it didn't changed anything)