Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Relative momentum question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Relative momentum question

I'm new to NT, and wondering whether the following sort of thing can be done. I presume that, if it can be done, it will require custom programming by me -- that's not a problem.

What I want to do is take a user-supplied list of symbols, some parameters to control a momentum calculation, and return a list of the symbols, ordered by the momentum calculation. The list order will (obviously) change as momentum changes, so needs to be calculated for any particular day I want.

The idea is to use this as the underpinnings of a sector or an asset allocation rotation plan. I'd like to be able to backtest strategies, such as how well it would work if I switched into the top N securities every W weeks.

What about generating my list automatically -- say comparing all stocks that made new 52-week highs within the prior 4 weeks and then ranking those?

I have not yet read up on NT strategies, but in most cases strategies pertain to single instruments. I am looking to build a strategy that compares multiple instruments.

Assuming I am willing to do the programming, is this sort of thing doable in NT?

Thanks,
    --EV
    Last edited by ETFVoyageur; 12-31-2010, 12:14 AM.

EV, this should be doable with custom programming in C# and NinjaScript, MultiSeries scripts are supported now for indicators and strategies with NT7 - please find a link to the concept below -

BertrandNinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Thanks.

I read about multi-series scripts. I have a couple of concerns, though.

One is how the user can communicate the list of symbols to compare.