Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Trying to Create Log File of Realized and Unrealized Gains Every 30 Seconds

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Trying to Create Log File of Realized and Unrealized Gains Every 30 Seconds

Hi, everyone!

I am new to this whole NinjaTrader and C# thing, and I'm trying to wrap my head around how to start, so please bear with me. I wish to create a daily log file of realized and unrealized gains every 30 seconds throughout the trading day.

After digging around here and in as many help areas as I could find, I understand that I should likely use the StreamWriter function along with the CustomEvents and Timer functions. I'm just having trouble putting it all together.

Has anyone done something similar? Do I write this script as an Indicator?

I do have the SampleStreamWriter.cs and SampleCustomEvents.cs files and have been studying those, but if you have any additional pointers for me, I'd be extremely grateful.

Thanks much!

Hello bigfatdrunk,

Those samples are good for writing to files and using a timer object. Performance details are only available programatically from the strategy that generates them, so this will have to be integrated into a strategy. This sample can help working with the TradePerformance class and resetting values each day:
    Ryan M.NinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Thanks for your prompt reply, Ryan!

So, I will need to integrate this code into a strategy... hmmmm, ok... can Timer and StreamWriter both be used within a strategy?