Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

indicator's relationship to strategy code

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

indicator's relationship to strategy code

I'm new to Ninja and I'm about to hire programmers to automate a strategy that will require custom indicators. Could you please help me understand a few things before I decide how to proceed?

1. I'd like to keep a custom indicator hidden from the strategy programmer (I'd have one programmer create the indicators and a different programmer create the strategy code). If you use a custom indicator in a strategy, must the strategy code include all the inner workings of the indicator? Or can you just reference an indicator's name in the strategy code and then the strategy will be able to collect data from the indicator without knowing how the indicator works?

2. Is it possible to create an indicator that checks for three conditions to be simultaneously met, and once all those conditions are met it simply produces a TRUE signal that a strategy can use as the trigger to enter a position? Or can indicators only create data, and the strategy has to use that data to determine if conditions are met?

3. If #2 is possible, does that decrease efficiency or limit the ways you can change the variables of the indicators and strategy?

Thanks for your help.

Hi otayah,

Thanks for the post and welcome to the NinjaTrader forums!

1) You can have the indicator programmer package it in an assembly, and optionally protect using CliSecure. With this, the strategy programmer can have access to the indicator values, but not view the source code. You will still likely want the source code available on your end though.