Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

slow performance using custom indicators

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

slow performance using custom indicators

Hello,

I have developed a couple of custom indicators which really take a long time to load (e.g. when applied to 1 Min charts it could take 30 secs to load)

Once they load, they update ok even though they seem to use a lot of PC resources (I am not a techie, but I can sense symptoms such as the time it takes to display a chart when flicking between chart windows or computer noise - sounds as if PC is going to take off any minute! - and/or temperature)

Not sure if I am coding something incorrectly. Common features these two indicators have are the following:
    • They plot or use 4 to 5 data series each.
    • They use TimeSpan variables and LRO/MRO methods to filter out bars*
    • Once compiled they generate about 300 lines of code
    • I use them real-time (i.e. CalculateOnBarClose set to False)
    Do you see any potential problems in those settings? (I am aware some of them could be a drain on performance, but really by that much?)

I have read the Help file on ways to improve PC performance when using NT, but is there anything else you could suggest to improve code efficiency and/or PC performance when developing custom indicators?

Thanks in advance,

Stopped

* I was referring to the following code:
    TimeSpan refTime = TimeZoneInfo.ConvertTime(Time[0], Bars.Session.TimeZoneInfo).TimeOfDay;

int barsAgoInit = LRO(delegate{return TimeZoneInfo.ConvertTime(Time[0], Bars.Session.TimeZoneInfo).TimeOfDay == refTime;}, 1, CurrentBar + 1);