Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

swing indicator & output window

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

swing indicator & output window

Dear Traders,

I should say I am a beginner with ninjaScript.
    I am trying to make use of swing indicator. My code is very simple:

protected override void OnBarUpdate()
    {

// Prints the high price of the most recent swing high
    Print("The high of the swing bar is " + High[Math.Max(0, Swing(5).SwingHighBar(0, 1, 5))]);

}

And my problem(s) are simple I guess but I couldn't solve them. So

1. How do I stop this code from populating the whole output window.? I want just a few values.
    2. If there are roughly 120 bars on the chart, I would like this indicator to return lets say 3-4 highs which happened within a range of last 80 bars. How would I do this?
    3. What is the most efficient way of printing the output of the code into the output window. I currently do this: a) compile the indicator b) clear the output window c) go to chart window d) press F5 to populate the output window. I there a smarter way?

Regards,

Ionaz

ionaz,

I am happy to assist you.

Why don't you try using DrawText or DrawTextFixed? This will output directly to the chart and won't clutter the output window.

For more information, please see the following links.

DrawText : http://www.ninjatrader.com/support/h...l?drawtext.htm

DrawTextFixed : http://www.ninjatrader.com/support/h...wtextfixed.htm

What sort of chart are you running this on?

As far as your second question. I am not sure what you mean. Do you want to display 3-4 highs in order of them occurring as some sort of resistance level?

Please let me know if I may assist further.