Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

How do I chain custom indicators in code?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How do I chain custom indicators in code?

Hi,

I'm new to NinjaTrader and am in the process of porting over some of my indicators.

Many of these indicators are chained together so that the output of one is used as the input of another.

So far I haven't had any luck getting this setup, or finding the right help docs that explain how to connect one custom indicator to another in code. I've figure out how to do this manually on a chart, but I need to be able to set/call a custom indicator as an input to another custom indicator from within the indicator code.

Can anyone give me some pointers on how this is accomplished, or where I can find the relevant help docs?

Thanks,
    Mark

Hi Mark

Hopefully, I should be able to help out here.

If you just want to reference an existing indicator within another, say EMA references MAX, it can be done very simply thus:

Plot0.Set(EMA(MAX(High, 14), 7)[0]);

This is all you need in OnBarUpdate() for it to be plotted.

If you want to reference another indicator within one you're creating, you do this via the DataSeries method. (Good idea to look this up in NT Help.)

In this example, I create a Data Series 'zseries' which I then embed within an EMA.

Code:
    [B]Variables[/B]

private DataSeries    zseries; // [I]"zseries" is my own name: could be anything.[/I]

[B]protected override void Initialize()[/B]

zseries    = new DataSeries(this);

[B]protected override void OnBarUpdate()[/B]

(my calculations for z)

zseries.Set(z);