Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Indicator: bars showing time elapsed?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Indicator: bars showing time elapsed?

Hello,

I have no experience with programming but can perhaps do it using the Wizard. Can somebody guide me in how to go about this, please.

On a tick bar, I want the time elapsed shown as a bar in panel below price bar, The time since the close of last price bar or beginning of current bar. The bar will keep growing with each passing second till the new bar comes in.

Is there a way I can modify the current volume indicator by changing the "volume" to "seconds" or something? Thanks.

Hello ju1234,

Thank you for your post.

You would need to setup a timer that begins counting on the start of the tick bar and if you wish to imitate the plot of the VOL for this indicator then using the VOL.cs would be a good start. This will require hard coding your indicator and could not be done through the Wizard.

You can find an example of a timer by viewing the code for the BarTimer.cs file in NinjaTrader. Please go to the NinjaTrader Control Center > Tools > Edit NinjaScript > Indicator > BarTimer > OK.

You can view the code for the VOL.cs file by going to the NinjaTrader Control Center > Tools > Edit NinjaScript > Indicator > VOL > OK.

Please let me know if I may be of further assistance.

Comment

Patrick, Thank you for your reply. I looked at the code of both VOL and TIMER. While VOL is relatively simple, TIMER seems much more complex. Unless it is just a matter of substituting the word "volume" with "seconds" or something in the VOL code, I would not know what to do with it.