Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Indicators comparable to AGET eXpert Trend Locator (XTL)?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Indicators comparable to AGET eXpert Trend Locator (XTL)?

I'm wondering if anyone knows of an indicator for NinjaTrader comparable to the eXpert Trend Locator (XTL) Indicator in Advanced GET?

I've looked at Dr. A. Elders Impulse system (http://www.ninjatrader-support.com/v...ead.php?t=6160) and it seems similar in that there are three colors of bars to indicate the trend (or lack thereof) but the result is completely different, and in my opinion no where near as accurate.

I'm fairly new to NinjaTrader and haven't attempted to code anything with NinjaScript, but I'm hopeful the 'NinjaTrader brain trust' on the forum might be able to come up with something close enough to be of similar usefulness...

I'm thinking the Dr. A Elders Impulse indicator could be a good starting point and its just a matter of finding the right combination of indicators and oscillators to calculate the trend, although I could be oversimplifying things.

From what I read the indicator is based on the Runs Test for Randomness (found in Advanced Statistical books), and when the randomness test exceeds a certain threshold, it is classified as potential trend. I think a great way to test this would be in combination with the trend slider for simulated data. If the indicator correlates decently to the trend of simulated data (which can easily be controlled) it should work well in 'live' situations too.

Here is an example of the XTL, which as you can see, is able to track trends quite effectively.