Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

New to building indicators

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to building indicators

Hi someone,

I’m currently using another program for my charting and want to duplicate everything in NT, so I can get rid of the other software. It looks like I will need to create various custom indicators and strategies. Since I’m new to writing and manipulating code I expect this to be a long haul.

For instance the Keltner I use paints the bars green when the average is rising and red when falling. In addition, it places a green/red dot in the first panel. So, the color of the bars on the chart will match the color of the dots in 1st panel.
    My guess is I can copy the current code for Keltner indicator into a new indicator and then add the proper code for the painting and dots….right?

If so, would anyone like to knock this out so I can see what code is, so I can then try to apply that to some other indicators? (Keltner is the only indicator that colors the bars. I have other indicators that will need to make dots in the first panel.

Much thanks for any help.
    -Steven

Originally posted by schaun_oh View Post
    Hi someone,

I’m currently using another program for my charting and want to duplicate everything in NT, so I can get rid of the other software. It looks like I will need to create various custom indicators and strategies. Since I’m new to writing and manipulating code I expect this to be a long haul.