Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Indicator calculating every tick

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Indicator calculating every tick

Hi everyone, I'm new to ninja, so this a may be easy. How to have an indicator to continue update its code. So for example the indicator "CandleStickPattern" that comes with ninja, have two options for calculating the data:
    Calculate on bar close true or false.
    1 - If its set to true it only plots, say a hammer, when the bar closes ;
    2 - If its set to false it plots as soon as a candle have a hammer "shape" .

Let's assume I have a 5 min chart. The problem with the option 2 is that if a bar at sencond 10 have the shape of a hammer, it will stay as a hammer until the close of that bar and forever, even if the bar closes as an engolfing.
    How is it possible to have that indicator, or any other, updating every tick, so that at second 10 when the bar is a hammer it shows "hammer" and then at second 11 if the bar changes to something that is not a hammer anymore, it does not show, and if next tick it goes back to the hammer shape it shows again?
    If a moving average does that why other indicators that have text or shapes don't?
    Do I have to change the code?

I'm comming from another platform and trying to rewrite my custom indicators in ninja.
    Thanks for your help.

Originally posted by marreta View Post
    Do I have to change the code?
    Yes. If no more hammer, turn the signal off.

Comment