Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Multi Instrument Indie inputs dont work unless dataseries is added to charting window

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Multi Instrument Indie inputs dont work unless dataseries is added to charting window

I am brand new to ninjascript (not programming) and decided for my first indicator I'd build a forex currency strength indicator. So I added the various instruments via the Add method in overridden Initialize method.

So when I load the indicator on the chart nothing shows up. Then I add the vairous other instruments to the chart, and when the indie has enough data is starts plotting correctly.

My question is, why isnt the indicator grabbing the data for the other instruments when loaded on a single chart?

protected override void Initialize()
    {
    Add("$AUDUSD", PeriodType.Minute, 1);
    Add("$EURCHF", PeriodType.Minute, 1);
    Add("$EURGBP", PeriodType.Minute, 1);

and so on. So I actually need to add a AUDUSD, EURCHF, and EURGBP chart to the same window in order for Closes[idx][0] to read for these pairs or BarsInProgress to indicate data from one of the above pairs.

Is there something I'm missing?

I have seen other indicators that use multiple instruments loaded on a single chart (screenshots).

Thanks!

Hello ctTrading,

Thank you for your post and welcome to the NinjaTrader Support Forum!

That should not be the case, the data should be downloaded when you add it via Initialize(). So I may investigate this matter further please answer the following questions.
    • What version of NinjaTrader are you using? You can check under Help -> About (Example: 7.0.1000.26)